Oklahoma has very specific rules requiring children to be restrained securely in a child safety seat. However, many parents are unaware of or misinformed about this rule. This article covers all of the necessary information regarding Oklahoma car seat laws.
- Oklahoma Car Seat Laws
- Oklahoma Rear-facing Car Seat Law
- Oklahoma Forward-facing Car Seat Law
- Oklahoma booster seat law for young kids
- Requirements for children to use the front seat in Oklahoma
- Taxi Car Seat Law in Oklahoma
- Oklahoma car seat replacement law after Accident
- Law on leaving a child in a car in Oklahoma
- Penalties For Violating Oklahoma Car Seat Laws
- Car Seat Law Exemptions in Oklahoma
- Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Oklahoma?
- Car Seat Inspections Help in Oklahoma
- Child passenger safety related videos Oklahoma
- More information and resources on car seat safety Oklahoma
- USA Child Passenger Safety Laws by State
Oklahoma Car Seat Laws
According to the child restraint law of Oklahoma,
“Every driver, when transporting a child under four (4) years of age weighing sixty (60) pounds or less in a motor vehicle operated on the roadways, streets, or highways of this state, shall provide for the protection of the said child by properly using a child passenger restraint system.”
Oklahoma Rear-facing Car Seat Law
All children under the age of two must ride in rear-facing seats according to state law. Infants should be kept in the rear-facing position as long as possible since this is considered the safest position for them.
Oklahoma Forward-facing Car Seat Law
According to Oklahoma legislation, All children under the age of 4 should be secured in a proper safety system. A front-facing seat should be used for children who have outgrown their rear-facing seats.
Oklahoma booster seat law for young kids
Children should be secured in a booster seat after reaching the forward-facing height or weight limit establised by the seat manufacturer. Booster seats are required to be used until the child is at least 8 years old and 4’9″ tall.
Follow the manufacturer’s recommendations for your booster seat, which should be 4 years old, 40 inches tall, and 40 pounds.
There are 2 types of booster seats:
- High-back booster seats – If your car’s seat back is lower than your child’s ears, you have to use a high-back booster seat to protect your child’s head and neck.
- Backless booster seats – If your car’s seat back is higher than your child’s ears, you can use a backless booster seat.
Requirements for children to use the front seat in Oklahoma
There is no specific legislation on the requirements for sitting in the front seat. Airbags in the front seat can harm children, according to the Oklahoma State Department of Health, thus the rear seat is safest and children should remain behind until they are 13 years old.
If you are confused about which restraint system does your child need, this simple test will make it clear to you whether your child needs to use a booster seat or just a seat belt.
The Five-Step Seat Belt Fit Test:
- Is the child able to sit all of the way back against the auto seat?
- Are the child’s knees able to bend comfortably at the edge of the vehicle seat?
- Is the belt crossing over the shoulder between the neck and arm?
- Is the lap belt as low as possible, with the thighs?
- Is it possible for the child to remain in this position the whole journey?
If you answered “no” to any of these questions, your kid requires a booster seat to travel safely in the car. Boosters are popular with kids since they are more comfortable!
Taxi Car Seat Law in Oklahoma
In Oklahoma, taxicabs are exempt from Oklahoma car seat law. As the law does not require that taxis have safety systems for children, it makes them seem unsafe.
But what can parents do to solve this problem? You may look for many rent-a-car firms that will supply you with the right vehicles and child safety seats. Another alternative is to seek help from rent-a-seat businesses to discover and send you the appropriate car seats. Check which firms can assist you before your journeys so that you are confident that your children will be safe during the journey.
Oklahoma car seat replacement law after Accident
There are no specific laws regulating car seat replacement in the aftermath of an accident in Oklahoma. but It is strongly recommended that you change your car seat following a collision.
“NHTSA recommends that car seats be replaced following a moderate or severe crash in order to ensure a continued high level of crash protection for child passengers. Car seats do not automatically need to be replaced following a minor crash.”
Law on leaving a child in a car in Oklahoma
It is illegal to leave a child alone in a vehicle in Oklahoma. You may read more about the circumstances that make leaving kids in cars illegal.
Penalties For Violating Oklahoma Car Seat Laws
For a violation of Oklahoma’s child passenger restraint system law, you may be fined $50.00 and ordered to pay all court costs. You will not receive points on your driving record as a result of this infraction. For a first offense, the fine will be waived and court costs will be restricted to no more than $15.00 if you can prove that you purchased or borrowed a child passenger restraint system.
Car Seat Law Exemptions in Oklahoma
If your kid is being carried in a school bus, taxi, emergency vehicle, moped or motorbike, or any other motor vehicle that is not required to be equipped with safety belts under state or federal rules, he or she may be exempt from Oklahoma’s child passenger restraint system law.
If you can prove that your child is unable to be placed in a child passenger restraint system, booster seat, or seat belt for medical reasons, he or she may be exempt from Oklahoma’s child passenger restraint system law.
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Oklahoma?
In Oklahoma, smoking in a vehicle with a child passenger is not illegal. but smoking in a car with a child passenger is not recommended.
There are many risks associated with smoking, especially when it is done around children. Secondhand smoke can cause respiratory problems, asthma, and other health issues in kids.
Car Seat Inspections Help in Oklahoma
- American Automobile Association Car Seat Inspection
- Chickasaw Nation child care Car Seat Safety Program
- City of Owasso Car Seat Safety Checks
- CPS Technician Search: Find a CPS Technician
- Monthly and Quarterly Car Seat Safety Checks in OK
- NHTSA car seat inspection Center
- Safe Kids Coalition
- Safe Kids Oklahoma Stations
- The City of Stillwater Car Seat Inspections
- Tulsa Police Child Safety Seat Check
Child passenger safety related videos Oklahoma
The car seat safety check that could save your child’s life
Rear-facing Car Seats for Babies: Safety Tips
Ask the Expert: Forward-Facing Car Seats
Booster Seat Safety
More information and resources on car seat safety Oklahoma
- American Academy of Pediatrics Car Seat Recommendations
- American Automobile Association Car Seat Guide
- Car seat safety: Avoid 9 common mistakes
- Car Usage Tips
- CDC Child Passenger Safety
- IIHS Child Safety
- Indiana University School of Medicine Best Practices & Recommendations
- NHTSA Resources for Parents and Caregivers
- Oklahoma Motor Vehicle Commission – Consumer Information
- Safe Kids Worldwide Car Seat Guide
USA Child Passenger Safety Laws by State
FIND YOUR STATE’S CAR SEAT LAWS
Click on your state on the map below to see your state’s car seat law