When a parent needs to travel with their child, there are many things to consider. First, the laws and rules of the state or country they are traveling in can vary greatly. Second, the equipment they will need to travel with may also be different than in their home state. Third, there is safety gear that will be needed for them and their child. The new Vermont car seat law outlines how parents should properly install a car seat for traveling and what requirements it has in terms of safety. This article will explain everything you need to know about the Vermont car seat laws.

Vermont Car Seat Law

Vermont Car Seat Laws

According to § 1258 of Vermont child passenger safety seat law,

“No person shall operate a motor vehicle, other than a type I school bus, in this State upon a public highway unless every occupant under age 18 is properly restrained in a federally approved child passenger restraining system.”

Vermont Car Seat Laws

Vermont Infant/Toddler Car Seat Law

Children must travel in a rear-seat or infant-only seat from birth to 12 months if they weigh less than 20 pounds.

Vermont Rear-Facing Car Seat Law

Vermont law requires that all children under the age of one and those weighing less than twenty pounds ride in a rear-facing seat that has been federally approved. However, these are only guidelines, and it is recommended that children ride rear-facing for a least two years or until they reach the manufacturer’s maximum weight and height limits. In the case of an accident, the rear-facing position provides the best protection, as the seat cradles the baby’s huge head and delicate body.

Vermont Forward-Facing Car Seat Law

When children outgrow the weight and height restrictions of their rear-facing seats, they can graduate to forward-facing seats. This typically occurs when they weigh between 30 and 40 pounds, depending on the seat’s weight limit. Secure your child with a 5-point harness seat. Adjust the straps to accommodate the child’s strong shoulders and hips. This is critical because the straps assist in distributing crash forces over the stronger body parts and away from the child’s more delicate body parts (neck, spine, and head).

Vermont Booster Seat Law

Once children outgrow the forward-facing seat requirement, they can ride in rear-facing booster seats. A youngster should typically weigh at least 40 pounds before transitioning to a booster seat. Booster seats are used to raise a youngster to the proper height for them to fit properly in standard safety belts. A proper fit is defined as the lap belt lies flat across the hips and upper thighs and the shoulder strap fitting tightly across the chest area.

Requirements For Children To Use The Front Seat In Vermont 

Vermont law prohibits the installation of a rear-facing seat in the front. Although the law does not specify an age, experts recommend that you keep your child in the rear seat as long as they are using a car seat. Additionally, they specify that a child must be 13 years old to move to the front seat.

If you are confused about whether your child should use a booster seat or an adult seat belt only, this simple test will help you decide.

The Five-Step Seat Belt Fit Test:

  • Is the child able to sit all of the way back against the auto seat?
  • Are the child’s knees able to bend comfortably at the edge of the vehicle seat?
  • Is the belt crossing over the shoulder between the neck and arm?
  • Is the lap belt as low as possible, with the thighs?
  • Is it possible for the child to remain in this position the whole journey?

If you answered “no” to any of these questions, your kid is not ready for an adult seat belt and still requires a booster seat to travel safely in the car. Boosters are popular with kids since they are more comfortable!

Taxi Car Seat Law In Vermont 

The only type I school buses are excluded from this law, as stated in Section 1258 of Child restraint systems. As a result, cabs are expected to adhere to these laws.

Vermont Car Seat Replacement Law After Accident

There are no laws regulating the replacement of car seats. The National Transport and Safety Authority recommends that car seats be replaced following a minor or large car accident. Additionally, keep an eye on the expiration date of your car seat.

Law On Leaving A Child In A Car In Vermont

There is no law against leaving children alone in cars. We don’t think it’s safe to leave a child alone in your car for any length of time.

There are many dangers that can happen if you leave your child unattended in a car. The most obvious danger is that your child will get into hot temperatures and be dehydrated. Another danger would be that there may be toxic substances left by other people in the car, such as gas or drugs.

Finally, it’s important to remember that your vehicle can become hot enough to cause severe burns on your child’s skin if left for long periods of time.

Penalties For Violating Vermont Car Seat Laws

A first offense of Vermont’s Child Restraint Systems Law may result in a $25.00 fine. A second violation of Vermont’s Child Restraint Systems Law may result in a $50.00 fine. A third or subsequent violation of Vermont’s Child Restraint Systems Law may result in a $100.00 fine.

How Old Do You Have to Be to Sit in the Front Seat in Vermont?

The particular requirements for children to sit in the front seat are not covered by the law. The AAP recommends that children under the age of 13 rides in the rear seat. The back seat is thought to be safer in general, because it lacks passenger-side airbags, which can be devastating to children when they deploy. Furthermore, according to Vermont law, rear-facing seats should never be placed in front of an active airbag.

Is It Illegal to Smoke In A Car With A Child In Vermont?

Yes, it is illegal to smoke in a car if there are children in the car in Vermont.

Child Passenger Safety Related Videos Vermont

Rear-facing Car Seats for Babies: Safety Tips

Car Seat Safety: Front-facing Install & Child Placement

Car seat check: An easy guide

Is it time to move from a booster to a seat belt?

USA Child Passenger Safety Laws by State


Click on your state on the map below to see your state’s car seat law

Share this, Sharing is caring :)

Similar Posts