The Maryland Car Seat Law provides parents with a detailed guideline on how to properly secure their child in a car seat. We have heard about the law and what it does but what about the Maryland car seat law in detail? Here is an easy-to-understand guide on the Car Seat Laws of Maryland.
- Maryland Car Seat Laws
- Maryland Car Seat Law for Infant
- Maryland Forward-facing Car Seat Law
- Maryland booster seat law for young kids
- Requirements for children to use the front seat in Maryland
- Taxi Car Seat Law in Maryland
- Maryland car seat replacement law after Accident
- Law on leaving a child in a car in Maryland
- Penalties For Violating Maryland Car Seat Laws
- When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Maryland?
- Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Maryland?
- Car Seat Inspections Help in Maryland
- Child passenger safety related videos Maryland
- More information and resources on car seat safety Maryland
- USA Child Passenger Safety Laws by State
Maryland Car Seat Laws
Maryland Car Seat Law for Infant
Under Maryland law, children under 8 years old and shorter than 4’9″ must use a secure child restraint system. For children under 2 years old, this system would be the rear-facing seat.
You should always keep your kids in rear-facing mode as long as they fit within the seat’s height and weight requirements, which are stated by the manufacturer. Some newer rear-facing child car seats can accommodate children up to 40 pounds in weight.
Maryland Forward-facing Car Seat Law
When a kid exceeds the rear-facing seat’s height and weight limits, you may transition him or her to a forward-facing seat. It is worth noting that moving a child from a rear-facing to a forward-facing seat increases the risk of injury.
Maryland booster seat law for young kids
Children under the age of 8 who are 4’9″ tall or shorter and have outgrown their front-facing seats must use federally approved booster seats in Maryland.
KISS also recommends that a child weigh at least 40 pounds before using a booster seat. Belt-positioning booster seats position children higher so that the lap and shoulder belts fit comfortably.
A good fit ensures that the lap area of the belt is low on the thighs and that the shoulder portion is tight across the chest. It’s not a good idea to use solely seat belts as boosters because they might cause injury.
There are 2 types of booster seats:
- High-back booster seats – If your car’s seat back is lower than your child’s ears, you have to use a high-back booster seat to protect your child’s head and neck.
- Backless booster seats – If your car’s seat back is higher than your child’s ears, you can use a backless booster seat.
Requirements for children to use the front seat in Maryland
Maryland’s child car seat laws do not prohibit children of any age from sitting in the front seat. However, most experts believe that children 12 years old and younger should ride in the back seat. Airbags in front seats are usually for adults and may kill young kids when deployed during an accident.
If you are confused about whether your child should use a booster seat or an adult seat belt only, this simple test will help you decide.
The Five-Step Seat Belt Fit Test:
- Is the child able to sit all of the way back against the auto seat?
- Are the child’s knees able to bend comfortably at the edge of the vehicle seat?
- Is the belt crossing over the shoulder between the neck and arm?
- Is the lap belt as low as possible, with the thighs?
- Is it possible for the child to remain in this position the whole journey?
If you answered “no” to any of these questions, your kid is not ready for an adult seat belt and still requires a booster seat to travel safely in the car. Boosters are popular with kids since they are more comfortable!
Taxi Car Seat Law in Maryland
Taxis are not required to follow the same car seat regulations as other passenger cars in Maryland.
However, it is their primary responsibility to allow parents to install child safety equipment if they want. and parents should bring appropriate car seats for their children when they are traveling in a taxi.
Maryland car seat replacement law after Accident
In Maryland, there are no laws regulating the replacement of car seats after an accident. When it comes to changing car seats following an accident, the state merely asks that parents follow the manufacturer’s instructions. After a certain period of time, some seats have expiration dates, so be sure to replace them when necessary.
“NHTSA recommends that car seats be replaced following a moderate or severe crash in order to ensure a continued high level of crash protection for child passengers. Car seats do not automatically need to be replaced following a minor crash.”
Law on leaving a child in a car in Maryland
It is against the law to leave a child younger than 8 years old unattended in a vehicle.
Penalties For Violating Maryland Car Seat Laws
A violation of the Child Safety Seats Law is not a moving violation. If you fail to secure more than one child in a child safety seat or seat belt at once, it must be considered as a single infraction.
You may face a $50 fine for failing to use a child safety seat. If you did not have a child safety seat when the violation occurred, but acquired one before your hearing date and provide evidence to the court, the court might waive the penalty. A violation of the seat belt law is not a moving offense. For a violation of the seat belt law, you may be fined up to $50.
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Maryland?
Children are not prohibited from riding in the front seat under Maryland law. However, you cannot utilize the front seat with the rear-facing seat equipped with airbags. It can be deadly for children to do so.
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Maryland?
yes, It is illegal to smoke in a car if there are children under the age of 8 as passengers.
We do not believe it is a good idea to smoke in your car when there are children inside. Secondhand smoke is dangerous, and it’s best to avoid smoking in a vehicle with a kid sitting inside. Secondhand smoke exposure causes a variety of illnesses in children, including asthma and pneumonia, as well as thousands of preventable hospitalizations. Secondhand smoke causes SIDS and can cause lung cancer and heart attacks if exposed over time.
Car Seat Inspections Help in Maryland
- Anne Arundel County Child Safety Seats Inspection
- Calvert County Child Safety Seats Inspection
- CPS Technician Search: Find a CPS Technician
- Fitzgerald Auto Malls Child Car Seat Inspection Info
- Fredrick County Child Safety Seat Program
- Garrett County Child Safety Seat Assistance Program
- Maryland Department of Health Car Seat Inspection
- NHTSA car seat inspection Center
- St. Mary’s County Child Safety Seats inspection
- The MWPH Car Seat Installation and Injury Prevention Program
- University of Maryland Children’s Hospital Child Passenger Safety
Child passenger safety related videos Maryland
Understanding the Basics of Car Seat Safety
Rear-facing Car Seats for Babies: Safety Tips
Ask the Expert: Forward-Facing Car Seats
Booster Seat Safety
More information and resources on car seat safety Maryland
USA Child Passenger Safety Laws by State
FIND YOUR STATE’S CAR SEAT LAWS
Click on your state on the map below to see your state’s car seat law