Georgia is one of the most progressive states when it comes to car seat laws. Georgia Car Seat Law is an important law that every parent should know. This legislation determines the age of eligibility for car seats and booster seats and helps parents make informed decisions on the proper way to secure their children in car seats.
In other words, if you have children under a certain age, you must use a car seat or booster seat in your vehicle. It is important to know how to properly use car seats so that you can help keep your loved ones safe from injury.
- Georgia Car Seat Laws
- Georgia Child Passenger Safety Law (Official)
- Georgia Infant/Toddler Car Seat Law
- Georgia Rear-facing Car Seat Law
- Georgia Forward-facing Car Seat Law
- Georgia booster seat law for young kids
- Requirements for children to use the front seat in Georgia
- Taxi Car Seat Law in Georgia
- Georgia car seat replacement law after Accident
- Law on leaving a child in a car in Georgia
- Legal Fees For Georgia Car Seat Laws
- When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Georgia?
- What are the height and weight requirements for a booster seat in Georgia?
- Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Georgia?
- Car Seat Inspections Help in Georgia
- Child passenger safety related videos Georgia
- More information and resources on car seat law Georgia
- USA Child Passenger Safety Laws by State
- Best Car Seats of 2022: Ranked by Our Experts
- Find trusted caregivers for your every need
Georgia Car Seat Laws
According to the car seat law of Georgia,
“Every driver who transports a child under eight years of age […] provide for the proper restraint of such child in a child passenger restraining system appropriate for such child’s height and weight and approved by the United States Department of Transportation under provisions of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard 213 in effect on January 1, 1983, or at the time of manufacture”
Georgia Child Passenger Safety Law (Official)
Georgia Infant/Toddler Car Seat Law
In Georgia, all children under the age of 12 months and less than 20 pounds must be protected in rear-facing car seats in the back of the vehicle.
Georgia Rear-facing Car Seat Law
Children under the age of one year old who weigh less than 40 pounds are required to ride in a rear-facing child seat according to the Georgia Child Passenger Safety Law. Children should always be rear-facing as long as possible.
The American Academy of Pediatrics recommends that youngsters remain rear-facing for a minimum of two years. However, it’s better to keep a kid rear-facing until they reach the height and weight limitations for their age group.
Georgia Forward-facing Car Seat Law
Children aged 1 to 3 years and weighing more than 20 pounds can ride on a forward-facing car seat in Georgia. However, it’s suggested not to switch from rear-facing to front-facing until your child reaches the weight and height limitations of the car seat’s manufacturer.
Georgia booster seat law for young kids
You must use a booster seat for your kid between the ages of 4 and 8, 40 to 80 pounds in weight, and under 4’9″ tall, according to the law. A booster seat is required to be used with a lap and shoulder belt.
There are 2 types of booster seats:
• High-back booster seats – If your car’s seat back is lower than your child’s ears, you have to use a high-back booster seat to protect your child’s head and neck.
• Backless booster seats – If your car’s seat back is higher than your child’s ears, you can use a backless booster seat.
Requirements for children to use the front seat in Georgia
Children who are old enough and meet the height requirements can sit in the front seat. However, Georgia law requires children under the age of 8 to ride in the rear seat. So, this means that your child can sit in the front seat after the age of 8. but experts say that kids should stay in the back seat until they are 13.
Taxi Car Seat Law in Georgia
Taxis aren’t required to follow Georgia’s child restraint regulations. As a result, they are not required to ensure that child passengers are safe and secure in their cars.
However, it is their primary responsibility to allow parents to install child safety equipment if they want. and parents should bring appropriate car seats for their children when they are traveling in a taxi.
Georgia car seat replacement law after Accident
In the state of Georgia, there are no regulations regarding auto seat replacement following an accident. You may consult the car seat’s user guide for further information. Accidents may range from minor to severe, and vehicle seat manufacturers usually provide guidelines on what to do if one occurs.
Also according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, after a serious or moderate accident, car seats should be replaced.
Law on leaving a child in a car in Georgia
There are no laws in Georgia restricting parents from leaving children unattended in a vehicle seat. Depending on the state in which you reside, it is possible that leaving your kid unattended inside a car could be considered reckless behavior under various laws.
We advise that you never leave your child alone in the vehicle for any length of time, regardless of where you live.
Legal Fees For Georgia Car Seat Laws
You will be fined $50.00 for a first offense or $100.00 for a second or subsequent offense if you break the child passenger restraining system law. The court may not charge any extra costs or surcharges.
The court will simply forward a record of your case’s disposition to the Department of Driver Services for data collection.
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Georgia?
In Georgia, children younger than the age of 13 must ride in the back of the vehicle. That means that if your kid is over the age of 13, he or she can ride in the front seat of a vehicle.
A child is less likely to be injured in the rear of the vehicle and away from the force of an airbag. Remember that airbags are meant to save adults, and as a result, they can be deadly to children.
What are the height and weight requirements for a booster seat in Georgia?
The law says that you should use a booster seat for children between 4-8 years old, 40-80 pounds in weight, and under 4’9″ in height.
A booster seat is meant to raise your kid’s legs so that the regular car seat belt fits correctly across their body. A good fit entails that the shoulder belt sits firmly against the chest and the lap belt comfortably encircles the hips. Keep your kid in this position until he or she reaches 4’9″ tall, according to manufacturer recommendations.
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Georgia?
It is not yet against the law to smoke in a vehicle with a child passenger. Although, Georgia is attempting to do so through legislation.
If you have no idea what your child faces when you smoke, secondhand smoke is linked to a variety of health problems. Please don’t assume it’s okay. Make sure your infant isn’t exposed to dangerous contaminants before it’s too late.
Car Seat Inspections Help in Georgia
- Safe Kids Georgia Centers Directory
- List ofNHTSA car seat inspection Center Across Georgia
- List of Fitting Stations by Counties
- Marietta Fire Car Seat Installation
- Children’s Hospital of Georgia Community Program
- Smyrna Georgia Child Safety Seat Information
- Dalton Police Department Car Seat Installs
- City of Johns Creek Car Seat Assistance
- City of Dunwoody Child Safety Seat Check Program
- Lilburn Child Car Seat Check
- Cherokee County Fire Child Safety Seat Inspections
- City of Woodstock Car Seat Inspections
- Columbia County Car Seat Safety Program
- Sandy Springs Fire Department Car Seat Inspections
Child passenger safety related videos Georgia
Buckle Up Georgia – Child Safety Seat Awareness
The Back Seat is Safest!
Child Car Seat Safety Tips
More information and resources on car seat law Georgia
- Georgia Car Seat Safety Guide
- Guide by Georgia Department of Law
- Georgia Passenger Safety law
- Georgia Governor’s Office of Highway Safety Child Passenger Safety FAQ
- NHTSA Recall list
- Why Use Rear-facing Car Seats?
- Safe Kids Worldwide Child Passenger Safety
- Car seat safety: Avoid 9 common mistakes
- Georgia Department of Public Health Injury Prevention Program
USA Child Passenger Safety Laws by State
FIND YOUR STATE’S CAR SEAT LAWS
Click on your state on the map below to see your state’s car seat law