If you live in Massachusetts and are confused about what the state’s car seat laws are, you’ve come to the correct place. We understand how perplexing legislation language can be. As a result, we read the official laws for you and extract the key information that every parent should know. here is the guide about the Massachusetts car seat law.
- Massachusetts Car Seat Laws
- Massachusetts Rear-facing Car Seat Law
- Massachusetts Forward-facing Car Seat Law
- Massachusetts booster seat law for young kids
- Requirements for children to use the front seat in Massachusetts
- Taxi Car Seat Law in Massachusetts
- Massachusetts car seat replacement law after Accident
- Law on leaving a child in a car in Massachusetts
- Legal Fees For Massachusetts Car Seat Laws
- When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Massachusetts?
- What are the height and weight requirements for a booster seat in Massachusetts?
- Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Massachusetts?
- Car Seat Inspections Help in Massachusetts
- Child passenger safety related videos Massachusetts
- More information and resources on car seat safety Massachusetts
- USA Child Passenger Safety Laws by State
Massachusetts Car Seat Laws
According to the car seat law of Massachusetts,
“A passenger in a motor vehicle on anyway who is under the age of 8 shall be fastened and secured by a child passenger restraint, unless such passenger measures more than 57 inches in height. The child passenger restraint shall be properly fastened and secured according to the manufacturer’s instructions.”
Massachusetts Rear-facing Car Seat Law
In Massachusetts, there is no preference for the rear-facing seat. Children ages 7 and younger and under 57 inches tall are required by law to use a child safety seat. According to specialists, children under the age of 2 should always ride in a rear-facing car seat.
Massachusetts Forward-facing Car Seat Law
When your child has passed the manufacturer’s rear-facing seat limit, it is time to transition him or her to a forward-facing seat. The state recommends moving children aged 1 through 3 years old to forward-facing seats when they have surpassed the manufacturer’s age limits for rear-facing seats.
It is advisable to use a 5-point harness for this seat, and the harness straps should fit snugly over the child’s collarbone.
Massachusetts booster seat law for young kids
It is suggested that parents keep their children in a harnessed car seat as long as possible. Once your child reaches the age of four, he or she may be moved into a booster seat. The booster must fit the kid properly with the lap belt crossing over the hips and the chest harness across the shoulders.
Types of booster seats:
- High-back booster seats – If your car’s seat back is lower than your child’s ears, you have to use a high-back booster seat to protect your child’s head and neck.
- Backless booster seats – If your car’s seat back is higher than your child’s ears, you can use a backless booster seat.
Requirements for children to use the front seat in Massachusetts
There is no official legislation on the requirements for children to sit in the front seat. The state, on the other hand, advises that kids aged 13 and under should ride in the backseat since it is the most secure position.
This is because front seats have airbags that are built to deploy with great force, which can be hazardous to kids. During car travel, children 8-12 years old should be fastened with seat belts (if they fit correctly).
If you are confused about which restraint system does your child need, this simple test will make it clear to you whether your child needs to use a booster seat or just a seat belt.
The Five-Step Seat Belt Fit Test:
- Is the child able to sit all of the way back against the auto seat?
- Are the child’s knees able to bend comfortably at the edge of the vehicle seat?
- Is the belt crossing over the shoulder between the neck and arm?
- Is the lap belt as low as possible, with the thighs?
- Is it possible for the child to remain in this position the whole journey?
If you answered “no” to any of these questions, your kid requires a booster seat to travel safely in the car. Boosters are popular with kids since they are more comfortable!
Taxi Car Seat Law in Massachusetts
In Massachusetts, taxi drivers are not required to follow the same safety standards as other motorists. The state’s child restraint laws do not apply to them.
Massachusetts car seat replacement law after Accident
The manufacturer’s instructions should always be followed, and the seat should have an expiration date. Car seats that were involved in a car accident should not be reused.
“NHTSA recommends that car seats be replaced following a moderate or severe crash in order to ensure a continued high level of crash protection for child passengers. Car seats do not automatically need to be replaced following a minor crash.”
Law on leaving a child in a car in Massachusetts
In Massachusetts, the legality of leaving children unsupervised inside cars is not clear. Daycare centers, on the other hand, are not permitted to leave children alone inside vehicles. It’s unclear if the new law applies to private cars. We recommend that you never leave your child unattended in a car for any length of time.
Legal Fees For Massachusetts Car Seat Laws
If you violate Massachusetts’ child passenger restraint laws, you may be fined up to $30. A breach of the child safety seat requirements is not considered a moving violation for the purpose of determining automobile premium surcharges. If you are ticketed for a violation, you have the option to contest it.
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Massachusetts?
The legal status of the rules regarding whether or not children should sit in the front seat is unclear. The state, on the other hand, recommends that kids under the age of 13 ride in the rear because it is the safest position.
What are the height and weight requirements for a booster seat in Massachusetts?
It is recommended that parents keep their child in a car seat as long as possible. Once your child turns four, you can move them into a booster seat. The booster must be fitted to the child and should cross the lap belt over the hips and place a chest harness across their shoulder.
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Massachusetts?
No, It is not illegal to smoke in a vehicle with child passengers, but the state of Massachusetts is attempting to make it illegal.
Secondhand smoke is dangerous, and it’s best to avoid smoking in a vehicle with a kid sitting inside. Secondhand smoke exposure causes a variety of illnesses in children, including asthma and pneumonia, as well as thousands of preventable hospitalizations. Secondhand smoke causes SIDS and can cause lung cancer and heart attacks if exposed over time.
Car Seat Inspections Help in Massachusetts
- 4-Safety Program Massachusetts Locations for Car Installation
- Amherst Police Department Child Passenger Seat Inspections
- Billerica Police Department Child Safety Seats
- Boston Medical Center Child Passenger Safety
- City of Quincy Car Seat Installations
- Find a car seat inspection site near you
- Lexington Child Safety Seat Installation
- Marlborough Child Safety Seat Installation
- Schedule A Car Seat Check in City of Boston
- Stow Police Department Child Seat Installations
- Town of Stoneham Child Safety Seat Installation / Inspection
- Waltham Child Car Seat Installation
- Wilbraham Police Department Car Seat Inspections
- Wilmington Child Passenger Safety
Child passenger safety related videos Massachusetts
Child Passenger Safety Video
Simple Steps to Child Passenger Safety
Q&A: Child Passenger Safety Tips and Tricks
Car Seat Safety: Common Mistakes & Top Tips
More information and resources on car seat safety Massachusetts
- Boston Children’s Hospital Injury Prevention Program
- Boston Public Health Commission Child Passenger Safety Guide
- Car Seat Guide from American Automobile Association
- Center for Disease Control and Prevention Child Passenger Safety
- Child Passenger Safety – Massachusetts Police Department
- Frequently asked questions about car seats
- IIHS Child Safety
- Important tips on car seats
- Safe Kids World wide’s Ultimate car Seat guide
- Why Car Seats Matter
- Why Use Rear-facing Car Seats?
USA Child Passenger Safety Laws by State
FIND YOUR STATE’S CAR SEAT LAWS
Click on your state on the map below to see your state’s car seat law