Arizona is known for many things, but most of all it’s known for being a state with some of the most relaxed car seat laws in the country. But many parents say that Arizona car seat laws can sometimes be confusing and hard to understand. This article will help you understand everything you need to know about Arizona car seat laws.
- Arizona Car Seat Laws
- Arizona Infant/Toddler Car Seat Law
- Arizona Rear-facing Car Seat Law
- Arizona Forward-facing Car Seat Law
- Arizona booster seat law for young kids
- Requirements for children to use the front seat in Arizona
- Taxi Car Seat Law in Arizona
- Arizona car seat replacement law after Accident
- Law on leaving a child in a car in Arizona
- Legal Fees For Arizona Car Seat Laws
- When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Arizona?
- Car Seat Inspections Help in Arizona
- Child passenger safety related videos Arizona
- More information and resources on car seat safety Arizona
- USA Child Passenger Safety Laws by State
- Best Car Seats of 2022: Ranked by Our Experts
- Find trusted caregivers for your every need
Arizona Car Seat Laws
According to the car seat law of Arizona,
“The operator of a motor vehicle that is designed for carrying ten or fewer passengers, that is manufactured for the model year 1972 and thereafter and that is required to be equipped with an integrated lap and shoulder belt or a lap belt pursuant to the federal motor vehicle safety standards prescribed in 49 Code of Federal Regulations section 571.208 shall require each passenger who is at least five years of age, who is under eight years of age and who is not more than four feet nine inches tall to be restrained in a child restraint system.”
Arizona Infant/Toddler Car Seat Law
All children under the age of 5 must be secured in a child restraint system, as defined by Arizona law. Infants are not specifically mentioned in the legislation. Because children must be properly restrained, forward-facing child restraint systems cannot be used in the front seat or behind active airbags because they aren’t permitted.
Arizona Rear-facing Car Seat Law
According to Section 28-907A of the Arizona car seat law, All children under the age of five are required by Arizona law to be properly secured in a child restraint system. Rear-facing seats do not have any specific requirements listed in Arizona legislation, but it is recommended that children remain rear-facing as long as they fulfill the seat’s manufacturer’s specification.
Arizona Forward-facing Car Seat Law
According to the law, there are no specific requirements for forward-facing child restraint systems other than they must be used as directed by the seat manufacturers. Children may not be seated in front-facing until they reach the rear-facing criteria and fulfill the seat manufacturer’s requirements for front-facing.
Arizona booster seat law for young kids
Arizona requires children to ride in booster seats until they are 4’9″ tall or 8 years old. Follow the manufacturer’s minimum and maximum size requirements for your booster seat. Most manufacturers now require that a child is 4 years old, 40″ tall, and 40 pounds to use a booster seat.
There are 2 types of booster seats:
• High-back booster seats – If your car’s seat back is lower than your child’s ears, you have to use a high-back booster seat to protect your child’s head and neck.
• Backless booster seats – If your car’s seat back is higher than your child’s ears, you can use a backless booster seat.
Requirements for children to use the front seat in Arizona
Arizona State Law does not tell you when a child can sit in the front seat. But car manufacturers put warnings on their cars that say kids under 13 years old should not sit in the front seat. However, there are certain circumstances under which this prohibition is loosened, and these instances are reviewed on a case-by-case basis.
Rear-facing seats can never be placed in front of an operational airbag, and if a forward-facing seat must be installed in the front seat, it must be installed as far away from the airbag
Taxi Car Seat Law in Arizona
Taxis are also required to follow the Arizona car seat laws.
Arizona car seat replacement law after Accident
There is no law that requires you to change your car seat following a vehicle accident, but it is highly recommended that you do so. The lifespan of a car seat is 6 years. Even if you are not in an accident, you are urged to replacement the car seat after 6 years since child seats have a life span of 6 years.
“NHTSA recommends that car seats be replaced following a moderate or severe crash in order to ensure a continued high level of crash protection for child passengers. Car seats do not automatically need to be replaced following a minor crash.”
Law on leaving a child in a car in Arizona
It is not illegal to leave a child alone in a vehicle in Arizona, as we all know that it can become quite hot there. You may face a class 6 felony charge for reckless conduct if your action causes a kid’s injury or death, and you can be charged with a class 4 felony if your conduct causes an injury or death to the kid. It is better to not leave your children alone in the car.
Legal Fees For Arizona Car Seat Laws
You may face a fine of $50.00 and a surcharge if you are found to be in violation of the state’s child restraint system legislation. Your civil penalty will be waived if you can prove to the court officer that your motor vehicle has been fitted with a child seat system that meets federal requirements by providing a receipt for the purchase or acquisition.
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Arizona?
In Arizona, there is no law on when kids may ride in the front seat, although many car manufacturers have a minimum age of 13 before children are allowed to sit in the driver’s seat.
Car Seat Inspections Help in Arizona
- AAA Car seat Inspection
- Bullhead City Fire Department’s Child Safety Seat Program
- Car Seat Safety Inspections by Peoria Fire-Medical Department
- Chandler Fire Department’s Child Safety Seat Program
- Child Safety Seat Inspections in Avondale
- Gilbert Fire and Rescue Car Seat Education Clinics
- Mesa Fire and Medical Car Seat Safety
- NHTSA Car Seat Inspection Directory
- Phoenix Fire Department Child Seat Program
- Safe Kids Arizona Centers
- Scottsdale Fire Department Car Seat Inspections
- Surprise Fire-Medical Department Car Seats Checks
- Tempe Fire, Medical, Rescue Department Inspect Car Seats Regularly
Child passenger safety related videos Arizona
Infant Car Seat Safety with MIHS’s Belle Hudson
How to: Install a car seat properly
Child Passenger Safety Tips and Guidelines
Guide to Installing a Booster Seat
More information and resources on car seat safety Arizona
- American Academy of Pediatrics Recommendations
- Fry Fire District Car Seat Information
- Car Seat Safety Tips from Safe Kids Worldwide
- A Safety Issues & Recalls list by NHTSA where you can see if your car seat has an issue.
- IIHS Child Safety
- A great Booster Seat Guide from HealthyChildren.org
- American Academy of Pediatrics Recommendations
USA Child Passenger Safety Laws by State
FIND YOUR STATE’S CAR SEAT LAWS
Click on your state on the map below to see your state’s car seat law
Best Car Seats of 2022: Ranked by Our Experts