If you live in Illinois, then you might be familiar with the Illinois car seat law. Illinois has specific laws and regulations about how to keep your children safe while they are riding in a vehicle. In this blog post, we will discuss everything that Illinois law mandates for parents and guardians of young kids as well as those who have teenagers.
- Illinois Car Seat Laws
- Illinois Car Seats Laws Explained
- Illinois Car Seat Law for Infant
- Illinois Rear-facing Car Seat Law
- Illinois Forward-facing Car Seat Law
- Illinois booster seat law for young kids
- Requirements for children to use the front seat in Illinois
- Taxi Car Seat Law in Illinois
- Illinois car seat replacement law after Accident
- Law on leaving a child in a car in Illinois
- Legal Fees For Illinois Car Seat Laws
- Car Seat Law Exemptions in Illinois
- When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Illinois?
- What are the height and weight requirements for a booster seat in Illinois?
- Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Illinois?
- Car Seat Inspections Help in Illinois
- Child passenger safety related videos Illinois
- More information and resources
- USA Child Passenger Safety Laws by State
- Best Car Seats of 2022: Ranked by Our Experts
- Find trusted caregivers for your every need
Illinois Car Seat Laws
According to the Car Seat Law of Illinois,
“When any person is transporting a child in this State under the age of 8 years in a non‑commercial motor vehicle of the first division, a motor vehicle of the second division with a gross vehicle weight rating of 9,000 pounds or less, or a recreational vehicle on the roadways, streets or highways of this State, such person shall be responsible for providing for the protection of such child by properly securing him or her in an appropriate child restraint system.”
Illinois Car Seats Laws Explained
Illinois Car Seat Law for Infant
According to the Child Passenger Protection Act, children under the age of two (unless they are 40 pounds or 40 inches tall) must be protected in a rear-facing child restraint system.
Illinois Rear-facing Car Seat Law
Children under the age of 2 years who weigh less than 40 pounds or are shorter than 40 inches must ride in a rear-facing seat in Illinois. If a kid is under one year old and weighs less than 20 pounds, the state mandates that he or she always be in a rear-facing seat. Never put a rear-facing infant seat in the front seat or anywhere near an active airbag.
Illinois Forward-facing Car Seat Law
In Illinois, you may transition your child from a rear-facing car seat to a forward-facing car seat with a harness system when they outgrow the weight and height limit of the rear-facing car seat between the ages of 4 and 8.
Illinois booster seat law for young kids
The law for booster seats in Illinois requires children to ride in a booster seat (or harnessed car seat) until they reach 8 years old. Follow your booster seat’s minimum and maximum requirements provided by the manufacturer. Most manufacturers now demand a minimum age of 4 years old, a height of 40 inches, and a weight of 40 pounds.
There are 2 types of booster seats:
- High-back booster seats – If your car’s seat back is lower than your child’s ears, you have to use a high-back booster seat to protect your child’s head and neck.
- Backless booster seats – If your car’s seat back is higher than your child’s ears, you can use a backless booster seat.
Requirements for children to use the front seat in Illinois
The Illinois car seat law does not have any provisions regarding when a child may ride in front of a vehicle. But experts recommend that kids should not sit in the front seat before the age of 13. When your child is over the age of 13, they can sit in the front seat.
According to experts, the back seats are the safest portion of the vehicle, and you should keep your children in the rear seat as long as possible.
Taxi Car Seat Law in Illinois
In Illinois, there are no specific laws about car seat requirements on taxis. The law states:
“The parent or legal guardian of a child under the age of 8 years shall provide a child restraint system to any person who transports his or her child.”
Parents should bring their children’s car seats when traveling in a taxi. If you don’t want to bring car seats to Chicago, consider taking the train or bus instead. These services are simple to use and cheap, so your child is secure on them without relying on a car seat.
Illinois car seat replacement law after Accident
There are no current laws in Illinois requiring car seat replacement after an accident. However, you know that a vehicle seat is less safe after an accident and is not reliable. and you can follow the manufacturer’s recommendations on what to do after a vehicle accident.
“NHTSA recommends that car seats be replaced following a moderate or severe crash in order to ensure a continued high level of crash protection for child passengers. Car seats do not automatically need to be replaced following a minor crash.”
Law on leaving a child in a car in Illinois
It is illegal to leave a child in a car alone for more than 10 minutes without supervision by one so young that they are younger than 14 years old.
Legal Fees For Illinois Car Seat Laws
A first violation of the Child Passenger Protection Act is a minor offense, with a maximum fine of $75. If you are convicted for your first violation, you will not be fined if you can show the court that you have an approved child restraint system and that you completed an instructional course on how to install one.
A second or subsequent violation of the Child Passenger Protection Act is a petty crime, although it is punishable by a $200 fine. You cannot avoid conviction for a second or subsequent offense by proving to the court that you have an approved child restraint system and that you complete an instructional course.
Car Seat Law Exemptions in Illinois
Motorcycles are exempt from the Illinois Child Passenger Protection Act. If your kid has a physical problem that prevents him or her from being correctly restrained in a seat and his or her disability has been certified by a medical professional, he or she might be exempt from the Illinois Child Passenger Protection Act.
The physician must describe your child’s condition and explain why your kid is unable to be appropriately restrained.
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Illinois?
The Illinois car seat legislation does not address when a kid may ride in front of a vehicle. However, experts advise against seating kids in the front seat before the age of 13. Check to make sure that the kid is wearing the seat belt correctly, with a lap belt and shoulder belt.
What are the height and weight requirements for a booster seat in Illinois?
The law says that children 8-12 years old should use a booster seat. Most manufacturers now require a minimum age of 4 years old, a height of 40 inches, and a weight of 40 pounds to ride in a booster seat.
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Illinois?
Yes, in Illinois, smoking is illegal in a car with a child passenger. If you have no idea what your child faces when you smoke, smoking can be very dangerous for them. It can hurt their health. Before it’s too late, make sure your infant isn’t exposed to hazardous contaminants.
Car Seat Inspections Help in Illinois
- NHTSA Car Seat Station Locator
- Across Illinois, State Police’s Headquarters Provide Free Car Seat Installation
- Illinois Secretary of the State Child Safety Seat Inspection Request Form
- Safe Kids Illinois Stations
- Advocate Children’s Hospital Free Car Seat Checks
- Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago Buckle Up Program
- Aurora Police Department of Child Safety Seat Inspections
- Carol Stream Police Child Safety Seat Installations
- City of Bloomington Car Seat Check Station
- Deerfield Child Safety Seat Installation & Inspection Program
- East Peoria Car Seat Checks
- Geneva Child Safety Seat Inspection
- Glen Ellyn Police Department Child Safety Seat Inspections
- Huntley Police Department Child Safety Seat Installations and Inspections
- Plainfield Police Department Car Seat Safety
- St John’s Children Hospital Child Passenger Seat Safety (Springfield)
- The East Lansing Police Department provides free car seat inspections
- Villa Park Child Safety Seat Inspections
- Village of Roselle Child Safety Seat Inspections
- Wheeling, Illinois Child Safety Seats
Child passenger safety related videos Illinois
Child Passenger Safety
Illinois Seat Belt and Car Seat Laws
How to Install Child Car Seats – Basics and Beyond
More information and resources
USA Child Passenger Safety Laws by State
FIND YOUR STATE’S CAR SEAT LAWS
Click on your state on the map below to see your state’s car seat law
Best Car Seats of 2022: Ranked by Our Experts