In the United States, each state has different laws that must be followed when it comes to purchasing a car seat. Missouri car seat law is a law that mandates the proper use of car seats for children. Car seat laws protect children in automobiles by keeping them safe from accidents. Below, we have compiled all of the pertinent information that you need to know about Missouri’s car seat law.
- Missouri Car Seat Laws
- Missouri Rear-facing Car Seat Law
- Missouri Forward-facing Car Seat Law
- Missouri booster seat law for young kids
- Requirements for children to use the front seat in Missouri
- Taxi Car Seat Law in Missouri
- Missouri car seat replacement law after Accident
- Law on leaving a child in a car in Missouri
- Penalties For Violating Missouri Car Seat Laws
- Car Seat Law Exemptions in Missouri
- Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Missouri?
- Car Seat Inspections Help in Missouri
- Child passenger safety related videos Missouri
- More information and resources on car seat safety Missouri
- USA Child Passenger Safety Laws by State
- Best Car Seats of 2022: Ranked by Our Experts
- Find trusted caregivers for your every need
Missouri Car Seat Laws
According to the child restrain law of Missouri,
“Every driver transporting a child under the age of sixteen years shall be responsible, when transporting such child in a motor vehicle operated by that driver on the streets or highways of this state, for providing for the protection of such child.”
Missouri Rear-facing Car Seat Law
In Missouri, a “child passenger restraint system” is required for passengers under the age of 4. There are many car seats designed for children of various sizes and ages. To determine the finest seat for your kid, contact the car seat manufacturer.
Children under the age of two should generally be placed in rear-facing child restraints, while children between the ages of four and eight should use forward-facing child seats.
Missouri Forward-facing Car Seat Law
Missouri law does not include any requirements for forward-facing seats. However, children weighing less than 40 pounds or less than 4 years old are required to use rear-facing or forward-facing seats. According to the AAP. You can use a forward-facing seat after your kid outgrows the rear-facing seat, and you can keep him or her forward-facing until he or she is at least 4 years old.
A 5-point harness is ideal for your child’s car seat. The harness straps should be tight around or above the child’s collarbone. In the rear of the car, a lap-shoulder belt or a lap-only belt of a seat belt may be used to keep the seat in place.
Missouri booster seat law for young kids
Children under the age of 4’9″ or 8 years old, or who weigh 80 pounds, must ride in a car seat or booster seat in Missouri. In Missouri, children are not permitted to ride in a booster seat until they are at least four years old and 40 pounds. Make sure you follow the manufacturer’s recommended height and weight specifications for your booster seat. Most manufacturers now require that children be at least 4 years old, 40 inches tall, and 40 pounds.
There are 2 types of booster seats:
- High-back booster seats – If your car’s seat back is lower than your child’s ears, you have to use a high-back booster seat to protect your child’s head and neck.
- Backless booster seats – If your car’s seat back is higher than your child’s ears, you can use a backless booster seat.
Requirements for children to use the front seat in Missouri
Many states require you to keep your children in the back seat of the car for as long as possible. In Missouri, the usage of front and back seats is not clearly defined by law. Although it is not required by law, you should try to use the rear seats as long as possible because they are safer.
Taxi Car Seat Law in Missouri
But what can parents do to solve this problem? You may look for many rent-a-car firms that will supply you with the right vehicles and child safety seats. Another alternative is to seek help from rent-a-seat businesses to discover and send you the appropriate car seats. Check which firms can assist you before your journeys so that you are confident that your children will be safe during the journey.
Missouri car seat replacement law after Accident
Missouri does not have any rules regarding replacing car seats. However, most car seats have an expiration date, so double-check the instruction book. After a moderate or severe collision, the NHTSA also recommends changing your car seat.
Law on leaving a child in a car in Missouri
If a child is left in a vehicle in Missouri and causes harm to someone else, it is considered a crime. It will be considered a class C felony if the injury is fatal.
Penalties For Violating Missouri Car Seat Laws
You may be fined $50, as well as court costs and a conviction for not using a child passenger restraint system or booster seat. If you obtain a child passenger restraint system or booster seat before your hearing, your charges may be withdrawn or dismissed if you provide proof to the court or prosecutor that you have installed one before your hearing.
You may be fined up to $10.00 and found guilty of an infraction if you don’t fasten a child in a vehicle safety belt. For a violation, you will not be charged court fees or points.
Car Seat Law Exemptions in Missouri
Commercial vehicles such as taxis and school buses are exempt from Missouri car seat laws.
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Missouri?
There are no laws in Missouri that make smoking in the presence of kids a crime. but smoking in a car with a child passenger is not recommended.
There are many risks associated with smoking, especially when it is done around children. Secondhand smoke can cause respiratory problems, asthma, and other health issues in kids.
Car Seat Inspections Help in Missouri
- Missouri Department of Health & Senior Services
- Cardinal Glennon Children’s Hospital Car Seat Inspection Stations
- Child Passenger Safety Seat Fittings and Installations Kansas City Metro Area and Surrounding Cities
- City of Ellisville Child Car Safety Seat Inspections
- City of Gladstone Car Seat Installation and Safety Checks
- CPS Technician Search: Find a CPS Technician
- Eureka Child Car Seat Installation
- Jackson County Health Department the Baby & Me program
- Mercy Injury Prevention Center Car Seat Guide and Inspection
- Olivette Car Seat Installation
- Safe Kids Columbia Program
- St Charles County Car Seat Installation
Child passenger safety related videos Missouri
Missouri’s Car Seat – Child Restraint Law 2021
Rear-facing Car Seats for Babies: Safety Tips
Car Seat Safety: Common Mistakes & Top Tips
Car Seat Safety Teaching
More information and resources on car seat safety Missouri
- American Academy of Pediatrics Car Seat Recommendations
- Best Practices & Recommendations
- Car Seat Safety Guide
- Car Seat Safety Tips
- Child Passenger Safety – Car Seat Information
- IIHS Child Safety
- Missouri Baptist Medical Center Car Seat Safety
- NHTSA Car Seat Recommendations
- NHTSA Recall List
- Why Car Seats Matter
USA Child Passenger Safety Laws by State
FIND YOUR STATE’S CAR SEAT LAWS
Click on your state on the map below to see your state’s car seat law
Best Car Seats of 2022: Ranked by Our Experts
Arkansas Car Seat Laws (2022): Everything You Need To Know
Maryland Car Seat Laws (2022): Everything You Need To Know
Washington Car Seat Laws (2022): Everything You Need To Know
Mississippi Car Seat Law (2022): Everything You Need To Know
Wisconsin Car Seat Laws (2022): Everything You Need To Know
Oklahoma Car Seat Laws (2022): Everything You Need To Know
Kentucky Car Seat Laws (2022): Everything You Need To Know
Minnesota Car Seat Laws (2022): Everything You Need To Know
Florida Car Seat Laws (2022): Everything You Need To Know
Connecticut Car Seat Laws (2022): Everything You Need To Know