In the U.S., there are specific laws that govern the use of car seats for children and infants. Understanding these laws can be confusing, so we’ve created this guide to help you understand everything you need to know about Nebraska car seat laws.
- Nebraska Car Seat Laws
- Nebraska Rear-facing Car Seat Law
- Nebraska Forward-facing Car Seat Law
- Nebraska booster seat law for young kids
- Requirements for children to use the front seat in Nebraska
- Taxi Car Seat Law in Nebraska
- Nebraska car seat replacement law after Accident
- Law on leaving a child in a car in Nebraska
- Penalties For Violating Nebraska Car Seat Laws
- When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Nebraska?
- Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Nebraska?
- Car Seat Inspections Help in Nebraska
- Child passenger safety related videos Nebraska
- More information and resources on car seat safety Nebraska
- USA Child Passenger Safety Laws by State
Nebraska Car Seat Laws
Nebraska Rear-facing Car Seat Law
All children must ride in rear-facing seats until they are 2 years old or weigh less than the seat manufacturer’s maximum weight limit, according to new legislation that took effect January 1, 2019. Rear-facing seats are most often equipped with harness straps to secure the kid in position. These are meant to support the baby’s head and neck and restrict movement during a collision.
Nebraska Forward-facing Car Seat Law
Children can transition to a forward-facing seat after they have surpassed the weight and height limitations for rear-facing seats, as set by the seat manufacturer, but before they are ready for the booster seat.
Nebraska booster seat law for young kids
Children who have outgrown forward-facing seats must ride in federally approved belt-positioning booster seats for the duration of their eighth birthday, according to Nebraska law. Booster seats may be used with a lap-shoulder harness or a latch system. Lap-only belts should not be used. A booster seat allows kids to ride using an adult seat belt.
There are 2 types of booster seats:
- High-back booster seats – If your car’s seat back is lower than your child’s ears, you have to use a high-back booster seat to protect your child’s head and neck.
- Backless booster seats – If your car’s seat back is higher than your child’s ears, you can use a backless booster seat.
Requirements for children to use the front seat in Nebraska
All children under the age of 8 must ride in the back seat of a vehicle, and children up to 18 years old must use an occupant protection system, according to Nebraska law. It’s best not to put a rear-facing child seat in front of it. If you must, for whatever reason, make sure the seat is as far back as possible.
If you are confused about whether your child should use a booster seat or an adult seat belt only, this simple test will help you decide.
The Five-Step Seat Belt Fit Test:
1. Is the child able to sit all of the way back against the auto seat?
2. Are the child’s knees able to bend comfortably at the edge of the vehicle seat?
3. Is the belt crossing over the shoulder between the neck and arm?
4. Is the lap belt as low as possible, with the thighs?
5. Is it possible for the child to remain in this position the whole journey?
If you answered “no” to any of these questions, your kid is not ready for an adult seat belt and still requires a booster seat to travel safely in the car. Boosters are popular with kids since they are more comfortable!
Taxi Car Seat Law in Nebraska
According to Nebraska law, cabs aren’t required to follow these rules.
However, it is their primary responsibility to allow parents to install child safety equipment if they want. and parents should bring appropriate car seats for their children when they are traveling in a taxi.
Nebraska car seat replacement law after Accident
In Nebraska, there are no regulations regarding car seat replacement in the event of an accident. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, on the other hand, advises replacing your car seat following a minor or significant vehicle collision. The seats on your vehicle may also have an expiration date (usually 6 years), so be sure to replace them when they pass.
“NHTSA recommends that car seats be replaced following a moderate or severe crash in order to ensure a continued high level of crash protection for child passengers. Car seats do not automatically need to be replaced following a minor crash.”
Law on leaving a child in a car in Nebraska
In Nebraska, it is illegal to leave a child under the age of six alone in a car.
Penalties For Violating Nebraska Car Seat Laws
A violation of Nebraska’s child passenger restraint system, occupant protection system, or three-point safety belt system laws is a traffic violation. You could be fined $25 for each instance.
In the event that you have been stopped, it is possible that your vehicle will be towed away after a violation has occurred. You will only face one penalty for each instance in which you are caught breaking the law. Court costs and points will not be assessed against your driving record for an infraction.
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Nebraska?
The state requires that children 8 years old or younger ride in the back seat if there is a rear seat with safety belts available.
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Nebraska?
There is no law regarding smoking in a car with a child. We do not believe it is a good idea to smoke in your car when there are children inside.
Secondhand smoke is dangerous, and it’s best to avoid smoking in a vehicle with a kid sitting inside. Secondhand smoke exposure causes a variety of illnesses in children, including asthma and pneumonia, as well as thousands of preventable hospitalizations. Secondhand smoke causes SIDS and can cause lung cancer and heart attacks if exposed over time.
Car Seat Inspections Help in Nebraska
Child passenger safety related videos Nebraska
Nebraska’s new car seat law changes requirements
How to Install a Car Seat
Child Passenger Safety Tips and Guidelines
Child Passenger Safety: Protect Your Kids from Air Bag Injuries
More information and resources on car seat safety Nebraska
- American Academy of Pediatrics Car Seat Recommendations
- Car Seat Guide By American Automobile Association
- Car seat safety: Avoid 9 common mistakes
- Children’s Hospital and Medical Center Car Seat Education
- Drive Smart Nebraska
- Indiana University School of Medicine Best Practice Recommendations
- National Safety Council Nebraska Child Passenger Safety
- Nebraska State Patrol guidelines
- NHTSA Recall List
- Premature Babies and Babies with Medical Conditions
- Surprising Dangers of Infant Car Seats
USA Child Passenger Safety Laws by State
FIND YOUR STATE’S CAR SEAT LAWS
Click on your state on the map below to see your state’s car seat law