When it comes to car seat safety, you need to be sure that your child is safely secured in the car. It is one of the most important things you can do to keep your children safe while traveling with them. But what should you do if you are not confident in your knowledge of proper car seat usage? To help you get the information you need to ensure your child’s safety, here is an article that discusses everything you need to know about South Carolina car seat laws.
- South Carolina Car Seat Laws
- South Carolina Car Seat Law for Infants/Toddlers
- South Carolina Forward-facing Car Seat Law
- South Carolina booster seat law for young kids
- Requirements for children to use the front seat in South Carolina
- Taxi Car Seat Law in South Carolina
- South Carolina car seat replacement law after Accident
- Law on leaving a child in a car in South Carolina
- Penalties For Violating South Carolina Car Seat Laws
- When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in South Carolina?
- Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in South Carolina?
- Car Seat Inspections Help in South Carolina
- Child passenger safety related videos South Carolina
- More information and resources on car seat safety South Carolina
- USA Child Passenger Safety Laws by State
South Carolina Car Seat Laws
South Carolina Car Seat Law for Infants/Toddlers
According to South Carolina law, children under the age of 24 months must ride in a rear-facing seat. The seat must be in full compliance with federal regulations.
South Carolina Forward-facing Car Seat Law
The law specifies that all children 2 years old or younger, as well as those who are 2 years old but have outgrown rear-facing seats, must be secured in a forward-facing seat using a harness until they reach the seat’s height and weight criteria.
South Carolina booster seat law for young kids
A booster seat is required for children who are at least four years old and have reached the top height and weight limits of the forward-facing car seat. The child will be secured in a booster seat with a lap-shoulder belt until he or she is ready to use an adult seat belt safely. The law requires a booster seat until the child is at least eight years old or taller than fifty-seven inches tall.
There are 2 types of booster seats:
- High-back booster seats – If your car’s seat back is lower than your child’s ears, you have to use a high-back booster seat to protect your child’s head and neck.
- Backless booster seats – If your car’s seat back is higher than your child’s ears, you can use a backless booster seat.
Requirements for children to use the front seat in South Carolina
If the car does not have a back seat, your kid may sit in the front seat in South Carolina. If your child is older than 8 years old and uses a secure restraint system, they can also sit in the front seat.
If you are confused about whether your child should use a booster seat or an adult seat belt only, this simple test will help you decide.
The Five-Step Seat Belt Fit Test:
- Is the child able to sit all of the way back against the auto seat?
- Are the child’s knees able to bend comfortably at the edge of the vehicle seat?
- Is the belt crossing over the shoulder between the neck and arm?
- Is the lap belt as low as possible, with the thighs?
- Is it possible for the child to remain in this position the whole journey?
If you answered “no” to any of these questions, your kid is not ready to sit in the front seat with an adult seat belt. he/she still requires a booster seat to travel safely in the car. Boosters are popular with kids since they are more comfortable!
Taxi Car Seat Law in South Carolina
In South Carolina, taxicabs are required to follow child safety standards.
South Carolina car seat replacement law after Accident
In the event of a vehicle accident in South Carolina, there are no legal requirements for changing car seats. Experts recommend replacing your automobile seat following a significant vehicle collision. After the impact, safety seats lose their structural integrity and can be deadly to your child.
also according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, after a serious or moderate accident, car seats should be replaced.
Law on leaving a child in a car in South Carolina
However, as there is no legislation in South Carolina restricting leaving a vehicle unattended, it’s possible to be charged with child neglect if the officer believes you put the kid’s life at risk.
Penalties For Violating South Carolina Car Seat Laws
The fine for failing to meet South Carolina’s child passenger protection system legislation is $150. This will be waived if you present the court with proof of purchase, rental, or acquisition of a child restraint system that meets legal standards no later than the appearance date indicated on your summons. In South Carolina, you may be fined up to $25 if you are caught driving without a safety belt. This penalty cannot be postponed. You are not permitted to pay court costs, fees, or surcharges; have a fine increased more than $50 for any reason, or receive points on your license.
A violation is not a crime and cannot be recorded in your motor vehicle records or referred to your insurance. You, as well as any passengers you may have, are not permitted to be searched. A citation can only be given out if you break another motor vehicle law at a checkpoint. Unless you fail to appear in court or pay a fine, you cannot be arrested or taken into custody for breaking South Carolina’s child passenger restraint system or safety belt laws.
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in South Carolina?
If the car does not have a back seat, your child may sit in the front seat in South Carolina. If they are over 8 years old and use a safety restraint system, they can also sit in the front seat.
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in South Carolina?
There are no restrictions on smoking in a vehicle with children as passengers. We don’t encourage smoking in your car with children present. If you have no idea what your child faces when you smoke, secondhand smoke is linked to a variety of health problems. Please don’t assume it’s okay. Make sure your infant isn’t exposed to dangerous contaminants before it’s too late.
Car Seat Inspections Help in South Carolina
- Cherokee County DSS Child Seat Safety
- City of Greer Car Seat Inspections
- City Of Myrtle Beach Fire Department Car Seat Installation
- City of North Charleston Police Department Child Safety Seat Installations
- CPS Technician Search: Find a CPS Technician
- NHTSA car seat inspection Center
- Safe Kids South Carolina Stations
- Safe Kids Upstate
- Spartanburg Regional Healthcare System Car Seat Inspection
- Summerville fire dept Car Seat Program
- Sumter Car Seat Installation
- Westview-Fairforest Fire Dept Car Seat Fitting
- York County Car Seat Checks
Child passenger safety related videos South Carolina
Simple Steps to Child Passenger Safety
How to Install Child Car Seats – Basics and Beyond
The car seat safety check that could save your child’s life
Live Q&A: Safety tips for car seats and booster seats
More information and resources on car seat safety South Carolina
- American Academy of Pediatrics Car Seat Recommendations
- Center for Disease Control and Prevention Child Passenger Safety
- Children Trust of South Carolina Child Passenger Safety Law
- Indiana University School of Medicine Best Practice Recommendations
- NHTSA Car Seat Recommendations
- NHTSA’s Car Seat Ratings
- Premature Babies and Babies with Medical Conditions
- Register your child’s seat and check for current recalls.
- Safe Kids Worldwide Ultimate car Seat guide
- Surprising Dangers of Infant Car Seats
USA Child Passenger Safety Laws by State
FIND YOUR STATE’S CAR SEAT LAWS
Click on your state on the map below to see your state’s car seat law