While Virginia’s car seat safety regulations appear to be less stringent, the state will still prioritize the safety of small children. The state of Virginia considers child restraint systems as seriously as any other state in the United States.
If you are a parent in Virginia, it is important to understand the laws governing child safety seats. Here’s everything you need to know about Virginia car seat laws.
- Virginia Car Seat Laws
- Types of restraint systems for infant and young kids in Virginia
- Virginia Rear-facing Car Seat Law
- Virginia Forward-facing Car Seat Law
- Virginia booster seat law for young kids
- Requirements for children to use the front seat in Virginia
- Taxi Car Seat Law in Virginia
- Virginia car seat replacement law after Accident
- Law on leaving a child in a car in Virginia
- Frequently Asked Questions About Virginia Car Seat Laws
- When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Virginia?
- What are the height and weight requirements for a booster seat in Virginia?
- Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Virginia?
- Car Seat Inspections Help in Virginia
- Child passenger safety related videos Virginia
- More information and resources Virginia
- USA Child Passenger Safety Laws by State
- Best Car Seats of 2022: Ranked by Our Experts
- Find trusted caregivers for your every need
Virginia Car Seat Laws
Types of restraint systems for infant and young kids in Virginia
There are three types of restraints for kids in Virginia.
- Rear-facing car seats
- Forward-facing car seats
- Booster seats
Virginia Rear-facing Car Seat Law
According to the law in Virginia, Children under the age of 2 will travel in a rear-facing car seat until they reach the height and weight limit set by the seat manufacturer.
Rear-facing is considerably safer for children, as it lowers the risk of head and neck injuries by 90%. The American Academy of Pediatrics currently recommends that children remain rear-facing as long as possible in their convertible car seat. Convertible car seats can hold infants up to 40 pounds, which is the weight of a typical 4-year-old.
VA car seat law says that children should use a harness car seat until they reach the maximum height or weight that is specified by the manufacturer.
Virginia Forward-facing Car Seat Law
Children must ride in a forward-facing car seat once they reach the weight and height requirements of their rear-facing car seat, according to the law. When your baby outgrows the rear-facing stage and begins to exceed the manufacturer’s weight limit for a rear-facing seat, it is time to consider switching them to a forward-facing seat. These limits are set by car seat manufacturers.
Virginia booster seat law for young kids
According to Virginia law, children under the age of 8 must ride in a child restraint system. When the child outgrows their forward-facing seat, they must be upgraded to a booster seat. No statement tells us the exact age-appropriate for using a booster seat. You need to find this information in the car seat manual and look at the weight, height, and age limits.
Until 10-12 years old, most kids do not fit appropriately in an adult seatbelt because they have not passed the 5-step test.
Types of booster seats:
- High-back booster seats – If your car’s seat back is lower than your child’s ears, you have to use a high-back booster seat to protect your child’s head and neck.
- Backless booster seats – If your car’s seat back is higher than your child’s ears, you can use a backless booster seat.
Requirements for children to use the front seat in Virginia
According to the law, your kid may sit in the front seat once they reach age 8, provided that they are properly restrained. Virginia legislation also states that a rear-facing car seat cannot be used in the front. If there is no backseat or it is unusable, you must disable the airbags.
According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), Children are ready for the front seat at age twelve.
Taxi Car Seat Law in Virginia
Taxis in Virginia are exempt from child restraint requirements. However, you must still bring a child car seat or a booster. It is best to protect your child when they ride in the car. Put them in a car seat and have a safe mind.
Virginia car seat replacement law after Accident
If your vehicle is involved in a major accident and you are unable to drive it away, it must be replaced under state law. Of course, you don’t have to be a lawmaker to understand this. Car seats aren’t indestructible and may suffer structural damage during a collision.
“NHTSA recommends that car seats be replaced following a moderate or severe crash in order to ensure a continued high level of crash protection for child passengers. Car seats do not automatically need to be replaced following a minor crash.”
Law on leaving a child in a car in Virginia
There are currently no laws in Virginia prohibiting leaving children in a vehicle unattended. but it’s not recommended to leave children in an unattended vehicle at any time. if you do leave them in the car, be sure they are visible and check on them regularly.
Frequently Asked Questions About Virginia Car Seat Laws
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Virginia?
In Virginia, there is no legislation regulating when children may ride in the front seat (besides restricting rear-facing car seats to the back), although many automobile manufacturers urge that youngsters should not ride in the front before age 13.
What are the height and weight requirements for a booster seat in Virginia?
The minimum age for Virginia’s booster seats is 8 years old. Make sure your booster seat meets the manufacturer’s minimal and maximum size requirements; most manufacturers now demand a minimum age of 4 years old, a height of 40 inches, and a weight of 40 pounds.
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Virginia?
yes. In Virginia state, it is illegal to smoke in a car with child passengers present. If someone violates the law, the charge for the violation is $100.
Car Seat Inspections Help in Virginia
- Virginia Department of Health Safety Seat Checks
- List of Inspection Stations in Virginia
- CPS Technician Search: Find a CPS Technician
- NHTSA car seat inspection Center
- Installation and Inspections in Loudoun County
- Arlington County Child Safety Seat Registration Form
- Fairfax FREE Child Safety Seat Inspections
- Fauquier County Child Seat Inspection
- Fredrick County Child Safety Seat Installation
- Hanover County Child Safety Seat Information
- Harrisonburg Fire Department Child Safety Seat Inspections
- Herndon Police Department Child Safety Seat Inspection
- Leesburg Police Department Child Safety Seat Inspection
- Roanoke Fire-EMS Child Passenger Safety
- Vienna Child Safety Seat Inspections
- Virginia Tech Police Department Seat Safety Checks
- Virginia Beach Child Safety Seat Installation Assistance
Child passenger safety related videos Virginia
Child Seat Installation
SAFETY ALERT: Virginia’s car seat laws changing July 1
Not Big Enough Booster Seat Safety
Booster Seat Safety
More information and resources Virginia
- Virginia Department of Health – Child Restraint Laws
- NHTSA Car Seat Recommendations
- A Parent’s Guide to Child Safety
- CHKD Child Passenger Safety Program
- NHTSA Recall List
- Booster Seat Installation Checklist
- Safe Travels: Car Seat Safety for Children & Infants
- American Academy of Pediatrics Car Seat Recommendations
- American Automobile Association Car Seat Guide
- Top 5 Things to Do
- Premature Babies and Babies with Medical Conditions
- Surprising Dangers of Infant Car Seats
- Safe Kids World Wide Ultimate car Seat guide
USA Child Passenger Safety Laws by State
FIND YOUR STATE’S CAR SEAT LAWS
Click on your state on the map below to see your state’s car seat law
Best Car Seats of 2022: Ranked by Our Experts