Many parents are confused by the North Dakota car seat law. A car seat is an essential piece of safety equipment for every parent and child. In order to choose the right one, you need to know what car seats are suitable for your child’s age and size. To make this process easier, we have created a list of North Dakota car seat laws that will help you understand everything about the safety requirements for these seats.
- North Dakota Car Seat Laws
- North Dakota Rear-Facing Car Seat Law
- North Dakota Forward-Facing Car Seat Law
- North Dakota Booster Seat Law
- Requirements For Children To Use The Front Seat In North Dakota
- Taxi Car Seat Law In North Dakota
- North Dakota Car Seat Replacement Law After Accident
- Law On Leaving A Child In A Car In North Dakota
- Penalties For Violating North Dakota Car Seat Laws
- How Old Do You Have to Be to Sit in the Front Seat in North Dakota?
- Is It Illegal to Smoke In A Car With A Child In North Dakota?
- Car Seat Inspections Help In North Dakota
- Child Passenger Safety Related Videos North Dakota
- More Information And Resources On Car Seat Safety in North Dakota
- USA Child Passenger Safety Laws by State
North Dakota Car Seat Laws
According to 39-21-41.2 of the child safety seat law of North Dakota,
“If a child, under eight years of age, is present in a motor vehicle, that motor vehicle must be equipped with at least one child restraint system for the child.”
North Dakota Rear-Facing Car Seat Law
The North Dakota Department of Health recommends that children ride in rear-facing seats until they reach the manufacturer’s maximum weight and height limitations. Rear-facing is the safest position for newborns, as their delicate and flexible bodies are protected by the seat’s back in the event of an accident. As a result, you should do all necessary to keep your infant in this position as long as possible.
North Dakota Forward-Facing Car Seat Law
Children who are at least two years old or have exceeded the rear-facing seat limits in North Dakota can graduate to a forward-facing seat with a harness. If you’re using a convertible seat, you can reverse the direction of the seat.
North Dakota Booster Seat Law
North Dakota law says that children who are younger than 8 years old should be in the correct child safety seat. They can ride in booster seats until they are 8. This means that kids who have outgrown forward-facing seats can ride in them until they are 8.
State health officials say that a child should be at least 4 years old and weigh at least 40 pounds before moving to a booster seat. They also say that parents should keep their kids in booster seats until they are 4’9″ tall or until regular safety belts can fit them.
Requirements For Children To Use The Front Seat In North Dakota
North Dakota law doesn’t say when your child can start riding in the front seat. ND law says that children who are taller than 57″ or older than 8 years old can ride without a car seat. They can sit in the front seat as soon as they can fit in a car seat belt. It’s also recommended that you keep your child in a car seat until he or she is 13.
If you are confused about whether your child should use a booster seat or an adult seat belt only, this simple test will help you decide.
The Five-Step Seat Belt Fit Test:
- Is the child able to sit all of the way back against the auto seat?
- Are the child’s knees able to bend comfortably at the edge of the vehicle seat?
- Is the belt crossing over the shoulder between the neck and arm?
- Is the lap belt as low as possible, with the thighs?
- Is it possible for the child to remain in this position the whole journey?
If you answered “no” to any of these questions, your kid is not ready for an adult seat belt and still requires a booster seat to travel safely in the car. Boosters are popular with kids since they are more comfortable!
Taxi Car Seat Law In North Dakota
Taxis are not specifically mentioned in the law. , but that doesn’t mean you should not use child safety seats in taxis.
When traveling with a baby, it is always recommended to bring your own car seat. This is because the taxi companies do not have enough resources to accommodate all the different types of car seats and there are some instances where they will not even provide you with a car seat. So when traveling in a taxi, make sure that you bring your own car seat.
North Dakota Car Seat Replacement Law After Accident
There is no law that addresses the replacement of car seats. Car seats should be replaced after a moderate or severe accident, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. You could also look for the expiry date on the car seat or in the instructions.
Law On Leaving A Child In A Car In North Dakota
As of right now, there aren’t any clear rules in North Dakota. But it’s possible to be charged with child neglect, which is a class C felony.
There are many dangers that can happen if you leave your child unattended in a car. The most obvious danger is that your child will get into hot temperatures and be dehydrated. Another danger would be that there may be toxic substances left by other people in the car, such as gas or drugs.
Finally, it’s important to remember that your vehicle can become hot enough to cause severe burns on your child’s skin if left for long periods of time.
Penalties For Violating North Dakota Car Seat Laws
If you drive a motor vehicle in North Dakota, you are responsible for properly restraining all children under the age of eighteen in a child restraint system, such as a car seat or booster seat, or using a safety belt. You may be fined $25.00 and have one point added to your driver’s license for violating North Dakota’s child restraint device regulation, which requires that a kid between the ages of eight and seventeen years or at least fifty-seven inches be restrained in a child restraint system or by a safety belt.
“In North Dakota, You May Be Stopped by a Peace Officer for a Suspected Violation of the Child Restraint Device Law Even Though You May Not Be Stopped by a Peace Officer for a Suspected Violation of the Safety Belt Law”
How Old Do You Have to Be to Sit in the Front Seat in North Dakota?
There is no particular law governing the standards for front seats. According to the North Dakota Department of Health, children should travel in the back seat until they reach the age of 13. This is consistent with the consensus among most experts that the back seat is generally safer. Additionally, front-seat passenger-side airbags are meant for adults and can injure children if they inflate during an accident.
Is It Illegal to Smoke In A Car With A Child In North Dakota?
The state does not have a statute prohibiting smoking in a vehicle with young passengers, although it is not recommended.
Smoking in a car with a child present can be hazardous to the health of both the child and the smoker.
The dangers include:
- Increased carbon monoxide levels may lead to death.
- The chemicals in cigarettes produce tar which is harmful to children’s lungs and bloodstream.
- Smoking can cause anemia, dehydration, or malnutrition if you are pregnant or breastfeeding.
Child Passenger Safety Related Videos North Dakota
Car Seats Save Lives
Infant car seat installation
Ask the Expert: Forward-Facing Car Seats
The car seat safety check that could save your child’s life
More Information And Resources On Car Seat Safety in North Dakota
USA Child Passenger Safety Laws by State
FIND YOUR STATE’S CAR SEAT LAWS
Click on your state on the map below to see your state’s car seat law