In the United States, motor vehicle accidents kill more children between the ages of one and 13 than any other cause. As a result, Tennessee authorities and safety professionals proposed several Tennessee car seat legislation to reduce the number of vehicle accidents, minimize severe injuries among children, and keep them safe on the road. Here is what you need to know about the Tennessee car seat law.
- Ohio Car Seat Laws
- Tennessee Infant/Toddler Car Seat Law
- Tennessee forward-facing Car Seat Law
- Tennessee booster seat law for young kids
- Requirements for children to use the front seat in Tennessee
- Taxi Car Seat Law in Tennessee
- Tennessee car seat replacement law after Accident
- Law on leaving a child in a car in Tennessee
- Legal Fees For Tennessee Car Seat Laws
- Car Seat Law Exemptions in Tennessee
- Frequently Asked Questions About Tennessee Car Seat Laws
- When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Tennessee?
- What are the height and weight requirements for a booster seat in Tennessee?
- Can My Child Ride in the Front Seat of a Pickup Truck in Tennessee?
- Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Tennessee?
- Car Seat Inspections Help in Tennessee
- Child passenger safety related videos
- More information and resources
- USA Child Passenger Safety Laws by State
- Best Car Seats of 2022: Ranked by Our Experts
- Find trusted caregivers for your every need
Ohio Car Seat Laws
Tennessee Infant/Toddler Car Seat Law
In Tennessee, all infants and toddlers under the age of 12 months who weigh 20 or fewer pounds must be secured in a rear-facing or infant-only car seat, according to state legislation. Be sure that your car seat is correctly installed and placed, checked, and approved by professionals.
Tennessee forward-facing Car Seat Law
Tennessee law says that children who are less than 3 years old and weigh more than 20 pounds must be secured in a front-facing car seat.
However, according to the AAP (American Academy of Pediatrics), children should ride rear-facing for at least 2 years or until they reach the manufacturer’s weight and height restrictions. Rear-facing seats provide the best protection for infants.
Tennessee booster seat law for young kids
Children 4 to 8 years old who are shorter than 4’9″ must use federally approved booster seats. Belt-positioning booster seats assist in raising a child so that lap-shoulder belts may fit properly over the body.
Types of booster seats:
- High-back booster seats – If your car’s seat back is lower than your child’s ears, you have to use a high-back booster seat to protect your child’s head and neck.
- Backless booster seats – If your car’s seat back is higher than your child’s ears, you can use a backless booster seat.
Requirements for children to use the front seat in Tennessee
Children may not ride in the front seat until they are 8 years old under Tennessee law. The Tennessee highway safety office advises that children stay in the back seat until they reach the age of 13.
Taxi Car Seat Law in Tennessee
Taxis, like other motor vehicles, are exempt from safety laws and regulations under the Taxi Safety Law. As a result, they are not required to ensure that their passengers are safe and secure in their cars. However, it is their primary responsibility to allow parents to install child safety equipment if they want.
Tennessee car seat replacement law after Accident
Because there are no present laws regarding this issue, your best bet is to follow the instruction book’s and manufacturer’s recommendations on what to do after a vehicle accident.
“NHTSA recommends that car seats be replaced following a moderate or severe crash in order to ensure a continued high level of crash protection for child passengers. Car seats do not automatically need to be replaced following a minor crash.”
Law on leaving a child in a car in Tennessee
It is illegal to leave a child unattended in a vehicle when:
- The child could be in danger.
- There is no other kid who is at least 12 years old.
- The vehicle’s ignition key is in the passenger compartment or the engine is running.
Legal Fees For Tennessee Car Seat Laws
The driver of the vehicle is responsible for ensuring that kids under the age of sixteen (16) are properly restrained and may be fined $50. If the parent or legal guardian of a kid in the car is present but not driving, he/she must ensure that his/her child is correctly transported and may be fined if necessary.
Car Seat Law Exemptions in Tennessee
Children with specific needs or other medical issues are permitted to use specialized child restraint systems that meet their demands. A driver transporting such a youngster, however, must have a doctor’s prescription on hand. Taxis and other commercial vehicles are not required to follow the state’s car seat laws. The drivers of such cars, however, must allow you to install a child safety seat in their motor vehicle.
Frequently Asked Questions About Tennessee Car Seat Laws
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Tennessee?
According to Tennessee law, your kid should sit in the back seat until they are 9 years old (when available). Children 12 and under should ride in the back seat of the vehicle as often as feasible due to the increased safety of the rear location. Because airbags pose a risk for children sitting in front seats, car manufacturers include warnings against them.
What are the height and weight requirements for a booster seat in Tennessee?
Children from 4 years of age until they are under 8 years old and are no more than 4 feet 9 inches tall must be secured in a booster seat.
Can My Child Ride in the Front Seat of a Pickup Truck in Tennessee?
The rear seat is always the safest place for your kid. If there is no other seat, position the vehicle seat as far back from the dashboard as feasible and deactivate your airbags. NEVER install a rear-facing car seat in front of an airbag. When there are no other seat alternatives, a kid may ride in age, weight, and height appropriate child restraint in the front seat of a vehicle.
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Tennessee?
There are no laws in Tennessee regarding smoking in a car with child passengers. However, you should be aware that passive smokers are more prone to harm their health than active ones since they breathe in the smoke; thus, before smoking around children, consider it.
Car Seat Inspections Help in Tennessee
- Car Seat Fitting Station Locations Across Tennessee
- NHTSA car seat inspection Center
- CPS Technician Search: Find a CPS Technician
- Safe Kids West Tennessee
- Mt. Juliet Car Seat Installation
- City of Franklin Car Seat Inspection
- Hamilton County Safe Journey Program
- City of Murfreesboro Child Safety Seat Installation
- City of Morristown Car Seat Inspections
- Shelby County Health Department Child Car Seat Program
Child passenger safety related videos
Child safety restraint seat installation
Highway Safety Experts Discuss Child Passenger Safety
How To Install a Convertible Car Seat Rear and Front Facing
How to Install a Booster Seat
More information and resources
- American Academy of Pediatrics Car Seat Recommendations
- NHTSA Car Seat Recommendations
- Choosing the Right Seat
- Booster Seat Installation Checklist
- National Child Passenger Safety Board
- Safe Travels: Car Seat Safety for Children & Infants
- Tennessee Highway Safety Office – Child Passenger Safety
- Kid Central Tennessee Car Seat Safety
- American Automobile Association Car Seat Guide
- Center for Disease Control and Prevention Child Passenger Safety
- Safe Kids Worldwide Ultimate car Seat guide
USA Child Passenger Safety Laws by State
FIND YOUR STATE’S CAR SEAT LAWS
Click on your state on the map below to see your state’s car seat law