Car seats are an important part of safe transportation for your child. They protect your child while traveling by car, but also give a lot of comforts. To be safe, you first need to know what kind of car seat to use for your child at what age. Ohio car seat law has undergone some changes recently, so let’s take a look at what’s new and what you need to know.
- Ohio Car Seat Laws
- Types of restraint systems for infant and young kids in Ohio
- Ohio Rear-facing Car Seat Law
- Ohio Forward-facing Car Seat Law
- Ohio booster seat law for young kids
- Requirements for children to use the front seat in Ohio
- Taxi Car Seat Law in Ohio
- Ohio car seat replacement law after Accident
- Law on leaving a child in a car in Ohio
- Legal Fees For Ohio Car Seat Laws
- Car Seat Law Exemptions in Ohio
- Frequently Asked Questions About Ohio Car Seat Laws
- When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Ohio?
- What are the height and weight requirements for a booster seat in Ohio?
- Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Ohio?
- Car Seat Inspections Help in Ohio
- Child passenger safety related videos Ohio
- More information and resources
- USA Child Passenger Safety Laws by State
- Best Car Seats of 2022: Ranked by Our Experts
Ohio Car Seat Laws
According to Ohio car seat law,
“when any child […] is being transported in a motor vehicle, […] the operator of the motor vehicle shall have the child properly secured in accordance with the manufacturer’s instructions in a child restraint system that meets federal motor vehicle safety standards”
Types of restraint systems for infant and young kids in Ohio
There are three types of restraints for kids in Ohio.
- Rear-facing car seats
- Forward-facing car seats
- Booster seats
Ohio Rear-facing Car Seat Law
Children who are less than 4 years old and 40 pounds should be secured in a car seat that is appropriate for their weight and height, according to the state of Ohio’s car seat law. It is a good practice to put a child in a rear-facing car seat until they turn 2 or until they have reached the maximum height or weight of their convertible car seat. The safest way for a child to sit in a car is rear-facing. It is much less likely that they will have a head or neck injury.
Ohio Forward-facing Car Seat Law
When a child outgrows the rear-facing car seat, he or she should be in a forward-facing car seat. Continue to use the front-facing as long as your child stays within the upper height and weight restrictions. The rear-facing seat is required to use until the child reaches 4 years of age and weighs at least 40 pounds.
Ohio booster seat law for young kids
In Ohio, a child must be at least four years old and 4’9″ tall or older before using a booster seat. Follow the manufacturer’s minimum and maximum dimensions for your child’s booster seat – most producers now demand a height of 4 years old, a weight of 40 pounds, and a height of 40 inches. The majority of children do not fit properly in an adult belt until they are between the ages of 10 and 12 when they pass the 5-step test.
Types of booster seats:
- High-back booster seats – If your car’s seat back is lower than your child’s ears, you have to use a high-back booster seat to protect your child’s head and neck.
- Backless booster seats – If your car’s seat back is higher than your child’s ears, you can use a backless booster seat.
Requirements for children to use the front seat in Ohio
The age of children who may use the front seat is not specified in the Ohio car seat law. Children ages 8 to 15 must use a child safety seat or safety belt, according to state law. However, the American Academy of Pediatrics advises that after your child outgrows their baby car seat, they may travel in the front seat at the age of 13. The front passenger airbags are intended for adults and may be deadly in the event that they inflate in front of children.
Taxi Car Seat Law in Ohio
According to Ohio car seat law: In Ohio, taxis are not required to follow this law.
Ohio car seat replacement law after Accident
There is no requirement that baby car seats be replaced. But after a serious or moderate accident, car seats should be replaced, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. Additionally, keep an eye on the expiration date on your car seat.
Law on leaving a child in a car in Ohio
Ohio does not have a law prohibiting leaving children inside motor vehicles but it is not advisable to leave your child in the car for an extended amount of time. Cars are very hot in the summertime as well as during the winter. Therefore, it is not advised to leave children inside motor vehicles for an extended amount of time. This includes when a child is sleeping or playing on the car’s interior.
Legal Fees For Ohio Car Seat Laws
A fine of between $25 and $75 may be imposed for the first offense. A repeat offense is deemed a misdemeanor, which means the driver could be sentenced to up to one year in jail and/or fined up to $1000. The amount of the fine and/or length of imprisonment are decided by the judge.
Car Seat Law Exemptions in Ohio
Taxis are not required to follow the state’s car seat requirement. Companies providing transportation services, such as limousines and shuttle buses, must comply with the law.
Frequently Asked Questions About Ohio Car Seat Laws
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Ohio?
The Ohio law does not set a minimum age for using the front seat. According to legislation, children between the ages of 8 and 15 must use a child safety seat or safety belt. However, if your kid has outgrown their safety seat, they can ride in the front seat after they reach the age of 13 according to the American Academy of Pediatrics.
What are the height and weight requirements for a booster seat in Ohio?
In Ohio, a child must be at least four years old and 4’9″ tall or taller before using a booster seat.
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Ohio?
It is not yet illegal to smoke in a car with children present. However, the situation may change soon.
A state representative in Ohio makes an effort to make it illegal for persons under the age of six to smoke in automobiles. A $500 penalty is levied if this law is violated. If the person who caused the accident refuses to pay the extra $500 fine, he or she will have to pay a total of $750 plus a further $250 for
Any cigarette, pipe or any other smoking device that includes tobacco will be included in the bill’s scope. If you are unfamiliar with the health hazards your child faces each time you smoke, be aware that secondhand smoke is linked to a number of illnesses. Please do not take it for granted. Before it’s too late, make sure your infant isn’t exposed to hazardous pollutants.
Car Seat Inspections Help in Ohio
- NHTSA car seat inspection Center
- CPS Technician Search: Find a CPS Technician
- Child Seat Inspection Stations by County
- American Automobile Association Car Seat Installation
- City of Westerville Child Car Seat Inspections
- The Fairfield Fire Department Child Safety Seats Program
- Plain Township Car Seat Inspection Program
- Norwich Township Child Car Seat Safety Checks
- Harrison Child Car Seat Inspection
- Butler County provide just car seat checks – contact Heather
- City of Hamilton Car Seat Inspection Program
- City of Bellbrook’s Renee Simmons
- Mifflin Car Seat Inspection
- City of Montgomery Car Seat Inspection
- City of Whitehall Car Seat Inspections
- Liberty Township Car Seat Safety Checks
Child passenger safety related videos Ohio
Rear-facing Car Seats for Babies: Safety Tips
Child Car Seat Safety
Ohio booster seat law in effect
Study: Are rear-facing car seats safe in rear-end crashes?
More information and resources
- National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) Recommendations
- American Academy of Pediatrics Technical Package on child passenger safety
- Car Seats: Information for Families
- Rainbow Babies and Children’s Hospital, Injury Prevention Center
- Center for Injury Research and Policy, Nationwide Children’s Hospital
- Safety Belt Safe USA
- When to Change Your Child’s Car Seat
- Kid’s Health Auto Safety
USA Child Passenger Safety Laws by State
FIND YOUR STATE’S CAR SEAT LAWS
Click on your state on the map below to see your state’s car seat law
Best Car Seats of 2022: Ranked by Our Experts
West Virginia Car Seat Laws (2022): Everything You Need To Know
Nevada Car Seat Laws (2022): Everything You Need To Know
Oregon Car Seat Laws (2022): Everything You Need To Know
Iowa Car Seat Laws (2022): Everything You Need To Know
Hawaii Car Seat Laws (2022): Everything You Need To Know
Kansas Car Seat Laws (2022): Everything You Need To Know
New Hampshire Car Seat Laws (2022): Everything You Need To Know
South Carolina Car Seat Laws (2022): Everything You Need To Know
Utah Car Seat Laws (2022): Everything You Need To Know
Nebraska Car Seat Laws (2022): Everything You Need To Know