Utah is a state that has been well known for its open-minded approach to laws and regulations, especially when it comes to driving. The laws in Utah are in such a way that they are straightforward and do not impose any unnecessary restrictions on drivers.
However, there is one thing that the drivers of Utah should be aware of. This article provides an overview of Utah car seat laws, including what requirements parents must meet to ensure that their children are safe while in a vehicle.
- Utah Car Seat Laws
- Utah Rear-facing Car Seat Law
- Utah Forward-facing Car Seat Law
- Utah booster seat law for young kids
- Requirements for children to use the front seat in Utah
- Taxi Car Seat Law in Utah
- Utah car seat replacement law after Accident
- Law on leaving a child in a car in Utah
- Penalties For Violating Utah Car Seat Laws
- When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Utah?
- Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Utah?
- Car Seat Inspections Help in Utah
- Child passenger safety related videos Utah
- More information and resources on car seat safety Utah
- USA Child Passenger Safety Laws by State
- Best Car Seats of 2022: Ranked by Our Experts
Utah Car Seat Laws
Utah’s car seat law requires children under the age of 8 to use federally certified child restraint systems. The state does not have any specific criteria for different sorts of car seats, although they do offer recommendations.
Utah Rear-facing Car Seat Law
The AAP (American Academy of Pediatrics) advises that children ride in rear-facing seats for a minimum of two years or until they reach the manufacturer’s weight and height specs. Rear-facing seats help to protect the head, neck, and spine by absorbing crash energy and distributing it evenly over the entire body in the event of a collision.
Utah Forward-facing Car Seat Law
Once your child has outgrown the weight and height restrictions of a rear-facing seat, he or she can move to forward-facing seats. This often occurs between the ages of 2 and 4 years, depending on a child’s development rate.
Utah booster seat law for young kids
When kids outgrow forward-facing seats, they may move to booster seats. A child should weigh at least 40 pounds and be 4 years old before using a booster seat. Until they are 8 years old or reach 57 inches tall, according to Utah legislation, children must use booster seats.
Booster seats with belt-positioning help to raise a kid so that they can fit in safety belts. The shoulder strap should lay flat across the breastbone, and the lap belt should rest low and tight across the upper thighs and hips for a correct connection.
There are 2 types of booster seats:
- High-back booster seats – If your car’s seat back is lower than your child’s ears, you have to use a high-back booster seat to protect your child’s head and neck.
- Backless booster seats – If your car’s seat back is higher than your child’s ears, you can use a backless booster seat.
Requirements for children to use the front seat in Utah
Children should ride in the back seat until they are 13 years old, according to the Utah Department of Health. The rear seat is regarded as safest for kids because it is typically further from the point of impact when head-on collisions occur. Also, the passenger-side airbags in the front seats are for adults only, so keep youngsters away.
If you are confused about whether your child should use a booster seat or an adult seat belt only, this simple test will help you decide.
The Five-Step Seat Belt Fit Test:
- Is the child able to sit all of the way back against the auto seat?
- Are the child’s knees able to bend comfortably at the edge of the vehicle seat?
- Is the belt crossing over the shoulder between the neck and arm?
- Is the lap belt as low as possible, with the thighs?
- Is it possible for the child to remain in this position the whole journey?
If you answered “no” to any of these questions, your kid is not ready for an adult seat belt and still requires a booster seat to travel safely in the car. Boosters are popular with kids since they are more comfortable!
Taxi Car Seat Law in Utah
According to Utah child safety seat law, cabs aren’t required to follow these rules.
However, it is their primary responsibility to allow parents to install child safety equipment if they want. and parents should bring appropriate car seats for their children when they are traveling in a taxi.
Utah car seat replacement law after Accident
The Utah Department of Health states that a car seat does not have to be replaced if it has been in a minor accident.
“NHTSA recommends that car seats be replaced following a moderate or severe crash in order to ensure a continued high level of crash protection for child passengers. Car seats do not automatically need to be replaced following a minor crash.”
Law on leaving a child in a car in Utah
It is illegal to leave a child younger than 9 years old unsupervised in a vehicle in a way that endangers his or her safety. If the kid is accompanied by someone at least 9 years old, there are exceptions.
Penalties For Violating Utah Car Seat Laws
An infraction is defined as a violation of Utah’s Motor Vehicle Safety Belt Usage Act. You may be fined up to $45. However, no points for a motor vehicle reportable offense may be given. You will receive only one citation for failing to control or secure more than one child in a child restraint device or safety belt if you are caught without doing so.
The court may waive your fine if you present proof that you’ve purchased, rented, or otherwise acquired a child restraint device if you fail to correctly restrain a youngster under the age of eight and have not previously been penalized.
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Utah?
According to Utah’s laws, your child should continue using the rear-facing seat until they are 13 years old.
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Utah?
It is illegal to smoke in a car with children who are under the age of 16. If you have no idea what your child faces when you smoke, secondhand smoke is linked to a variety of health problems. Please don’t assume it’s okay. Make sure your infant isn’t exposed to dangerous contaminants before it’s too late.
Car Seat Inspections Help in Utah
- The Unified Police Department Car Seat Inspections
- Car Seat Fitting Stations Across Utah
- CPS Technician Search: Find a CPS Technician
- NHTSA car seat inspection Center
- Park City Fire District Car Seat Safety and Inspections
- Safe Kids Utah Stations
- Salt Lake County Car Seat Inspection and Tips
- Southwest Utah Public Health Department Car Seat Education and Installation
- Utah Safety Council Car Seat Inspection
Child passenger safety related videos Utah
Child Passenger Safety Tips and Guidelines
Using LATCH to Install Car Seats and Booster Seats
Q&A: Child Passenger Safety Tips and Tricks
How to Buckle Child – Protect Your Kids Car Seat Safety Tips
More information and resources on car seat safety Utah
- American Academy of Pediatrics Car Seat Recommendations
- American Automobile Association Car Seat Guide
- Best Practices & Recommendations
- Booster Seat Installation Checklist
- Car seat safety: Avoid 9 common mistakes
- NHTSA Car Seat Recommendations
- Premature Babies and Babies with Medical Conditions
- Safe Travels: Car Seat Safety for Children & Infants
- Surprising Dangers of Infant Car Seats
- University of Utah Health Sciences Interview with Dr. Cindy Gellner
- Utah Department of Public Safety Car Seat Safety
- Utah Safety Council Child Safety Seat Basics
USA Child Passenger Safety Laws by State
FIND YOUR STATE’S CAR SEAT LAWS
Click on your state on the map below to see your state’s car seat law
Best Car Seats of 2022: Ranked by Our Experts