Alaska has some of the strictest laws regarding car seats in the country. The goal of the Alaska Car Seat Law is to make sure that every child has a safe and comfortable ride in a car seat or booster seat. In order to be safe, your child must be properly secured in a car seat at all times. Even if you’re not driving, you need to make sure your child is seated correctly. This article will explain everything you need to know about the Alaska car seat laws.
- Alaska Car Seat Laws
- Alaska Rear-Facing Car Seat Law
- Alaska Forward-Facing Car Seat Law
- Alaska Booster Seat Law
- Requirements For Children To Use The Front Seat In Alaska
- Taxi Car Seat Law In Alaska
- Alaska Car Seat Replacement Law After Accident
- Law On Leaving A Child In A Car In Alaska
- Penalties For Violating Alaska Car Seat Laws
- How Old Do You Have to Be to Sit in the Front Seat in Alaska?
- Is It Illegal to Smoke In A Car With A Child In Alaska?
- Car Seat Inspections Help In Alaska
- Child Passenger Safety Related Videos Alaska
- More Information And Resources On Car Seat Safety in Alaska
- USA Child Passenger Safety Laws by State
- Best Car Seats of 2022: Ranked by Our Experts
- Find trusted caregivers for your every need
Alaska Car Seat Laws
According to section 28.05.095 of Alaska child passenger safety law,
“A driver may not transport a child under the age of 16 in a motor vehicle unless the driver has provided the required safety device and properly secured each child as described in this subsection.”
Alaska Rear-Facing Car Seat Law
Alaska requires children weighing less than 20 pounds and older than one year, or children under the age of one year, to use a rear-facing child safety seat Additionally, it may be beneficial to remember that the American Academy of Pediatrics suggests that parents use these seats until their child reaches the age of two.
Alaska Forward-Facing Car Seat Law
Children between the ages of one and four who weigh more than twenty pounds must be restrained using a child restraint device (forward-facing seat). The child’s harness should be a five-point harness, and he or she should remain in the seat until they reach the manufacturer’s height and weight limits. Additionally, the device should comply with United States Department of Transportation standards.
Alaska Booster Seat Law
In Alaska, children must be at least 4 years old but not more than 8 years old and have a height of less than 4’9″. They must weigh at least 20 pounds and no more than 65 pounds. The booster seat should be secured with a seat belt or another system (such as a latch system) that meets the requirements of the United States Department of Transportation. The booster seat should support the child in firmly positioning the standard seat belt over the child’s stronger body parts (chest, shoulders, and lap).
Requirements For Children To Use The Front Seat In Alaska
In Alaska, there is no mention of age in the law. According to experts, your child should sit in the front seat if their car seat belt fits them securely. The seat belt should be snug over the upper thighs, not the stomach, for a secure fit.
If you are confused about whether your child should use a booster seat or an adult seat belt only, this simple test will help you decide.
The Five-Step Seat Belt Fit Test:
- Is the child able to sit all of the way back against the auto seat?
- Are the child’s knees able to bend comfortably at the edge of the vehicle seat?
- Is the belt crossing over the shoulder between the neck and arm?
- Is the lap belt as low as possible, with the thighs?
- Is it possible for the child to remain in this position the whole journey?
If you answered “no” to any of these questions, your kid is not ready for an adult seat belt and still requires a booster seat to travel safely in the car. Boosters are popular with kids since they are more comfortable!
Taxi Car Seat Law In Alaska
Alaska requires all children under the age of eight and under the height of 57 inches to ride in a child safety seat. They do not exempt taxis. If you are traveling in an Alaska taxi, Uber, Lyft, or other ridesharing vehicles, you must have the proper kid restraint device.
Alaska Car Seat Replacement Law After Accident
The Alaska car seat law presently contains no guidelines for seat replacement. However, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration recommends that car seats be replaced following a serious or moderate accident. Car seat manufacturers also add expiration dates, so be sure to check yours.
Law On Leaving A Child In A Car In Alaska
No, it is not against the law in Alaska to leave a child alone in a car. however, We strongly advise against leaving a child alone in a car. It is important to know the risks of leaving a child in a car.
There are many dangers that can happen if you leave your child unattended in a car. The most obvious danger is that your child will get into hot temperatures and be dehydrated. Another danger would be that there may be toxic substances left by other people in the car, such as gas or drugs.
Finally, it’s important to remember that your vehicle can become hot enough to cause severe burns on your child’s skin if left for long periods of time.
Penalties For Violating Alaska Car Seat Laws
Infractions include failing to properly secure a youngster over sixteen and removing safety belts from a vehicle. You may be fined $15.00, which may be avoided if you contribute $15.00 to the local emergency medical services.
A child under the age of sixteen must be adequately secured. You could get a $50 fine and demerit points. If you are cited for failing to provide a child safety device or safety belt, you may be able to have the citation dismissed and no points assessed if you show a peace officer proof that you have purchased or acquired and installed an approved child safety device or safety belt within thirty days of the citation being issued.
How Old Do You Have to Be to Sit in the Front Seat in Alaska?
In the state of Alaska, there isn’t a specific age at which a child can sit in the front seat. If a child is older than 8 years old and the seat belt is tight enough, they can sit in the front (safe fit means the seat belt lies firmly across the upper thighs).
Is It Illegal to Smoke In A Car With A Child In Alaska?
Alaska Administrative Code 10.1085, states that any vehicle used to carry minors must be smoke-free.
Smoking in a car with a child present can be hazardous to the health of both the child and the smoker.
The dangers include:
- Increased carbon monoxide levels may lead to death.
- The chemicals in cigarettes produce tar which is harmful to children’s lungs and bloodstream.
- Smoking can cause anemia, dehydration, or malnutrition if you are pregnant or breastfeeding.
Child Passenger Safety Related Videos Alaska
Installing a Car Seat Properly
Learn How To Keep Children In Car Seats Safe
The car seat safety check that could save your child’s life
The Inch Test
More Information And Resources On Car Seat Safety in Alaska
USA Child Passenger Safety Laws by State
FIND YOUR STATE’S CAR SEAT LAWS
Click on your state on the map below to see your state’s car seat law
Best Car Seats of 2022: Ranked by Our Experts