Kansas has a law that requires parents to secure children in child safety seats when traveling in vehicles. This is to ensure the safety of the child and other drivers, as well as the child’s own safety. If you are not abiding by this law, then you could be facing serious consequences. This article explains the Kansas car seat laws and how it affects you.
- Kansas Car Seat Laws
- Kansas Car Seat Laws for Infants/Toddlers
- Kansas Rear-facing Car Seat Law
- Kansas Forward-facing Car Seat Law
- Kansas booster seat law for young kids
- Requirements for children to use the front seat in Kansas
- Taxi Car Seat Law in Kansas
- Kansas car seat replacement law after Accident
- Law on leaving a child in a car in Kansas
- Penalties For Violating Kansas Car Seat Laws
- When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Kansas?
- Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Kansas?
- Car Seat Inspections Help in Kansas
- Child passenger safety related videos Kansas
- More information and resources on car seat safety Kansas
- USA Child Passenger Safety Laws by State
Kansas Car Seat Laws
Kansas Car Seat Laws for Infants/Toddlers
Kansas law requires that infant-only seats be used for infants under the age of 12 months. These seats are only suitable for use in the rear seat of a vehicle.
Kansas Rear-facing Car Seat Law
Children under the age of four are required by law in Kansas to ride in a rear-facing seat. As long as your child is within the manufacturer’s recommended weight and height limits, you should keep him or her in a rear-facing seat.
Kansas Forward-facing Car Seat Law
When your child outgrows their rear-facing car seat, they can transition to a forward-facing car seat. This can happen between the ages of one and four, according to Kansas law.
Kansas booster seat law for young kids
All kids who are 4 to 7 years old in Kansas must ride in a booster seat in the back seat, as long as they don’t weigh more than 80 pounds and aren’t taller than 4’9.” The booster seat must be used with both shoulder and lap belts, so the child can stay safe. You can’t use lap belts only to keep booster seats in place. The shoulder belt should fit over the child’s chest area, and the lap belt should be tight enough to cross the child’s thighs.
There are 2 types of booster seats:
- High-back booster seats – If your car’s seat back is lower than your child’s ears, you have to use a high-back booster seat to protect your child’s head and neck.
- Backless booster seats – If your car’s seat back is higher than your child’s ears, you can use a backless booster seat.
Requirements for children to use the front seat in Kansas
The age at which your child can sit in the front seat is not specified in Kansas law. Most experts, however, advise keeping your child in the back seat until they are 13 years old. This is safer since, in the event of an accident, the airbag in most front seats can be fatal to a child. In addition, the Kansas Highway Patrol requires that your child be transitioned from a booster seat only when he or she is old enough to use a seat belt. This usually occurs at a height of 4’9″.
If you are confused about whether your child should use a booster seat or an adult seat belt only, this simple test will help you decide.
The Five-Step Seat Belt Fit Test:
- Is the child able to sit all of the way back against the auto seat?
- Are the child’s knees able to bend comfortably at the edge of the vehicle seat?
- Is the belt crossing over the shoulder between the neck and arm?
- Is the lap belt as low as possible, with the thighs?
- Is it possible for the child to remain in this position the whole journey?
If you answered “no” to any of these questions, your kid is not ready for an adult seat belt and still requires a booster seat to travel safely in the car. Boosters are popular with kids since they are more comfortable!
Taxi Car Seat Law in Kansas
Taxis in Kansas are required to follow the state’s car seat regulations.
Kansas car seat replacement law after Accident
Kansas does not have any legislation governing replacement seats in the event of an accident. The state requires that you follow the directions provided by the seat manufacturer.
“NHTSA recommends that car seats be replaced following a moderate or severe crash in order to ensure a continued high level of crash protection for child passengers. Car seats do not automatically need to be replaced following a minor crash.”
Law on leaving a child in a car in Kansas
The law makes no specific provisions for leaving a child unattended in a private vehicle. However, we do not recommend leaving a child alone in a car for any period of time.
Penalties For Violating Kansas Car Seat Laws
Any infractions of the Child Passenger Safety Act will cost you roughly $60 in addition to court costs. If documentation is produced to the court, such as the purchase of a child safety seat, the penalty will be waived. The court costs, however, will continue to apply.
When Can My Child Sit in the Front Seat in Kansas?
Kansas law makes no mention of the minimum age at which a child may ride in the front seat.
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Kansas?
In Kansas, there is no law prohibiting smoking in a car while children are present. The Kansas Indoor Clean Air Act exclusively prohibits smoking in taxicabs. However, doing so in some places of Kansas could result in you being arrested. In addition, smoking is prohibited in some areas of Kansas. For further information, contact your local health department.
Car Seat Inspections Help in Kansas
- Andover Police Department Child Seat Inspections
- Butler County Child Safety Seat Installation
- Child Passenger Safety Seat Fittings and Installations Johnson County and Surrounding Areas
- Child Passenger Safety Seat Fittings and Installations Kansas City Metro Area and Surrounding Cities
- Children’s Mercy Car Seat Program
- City of Lawrence Child Safety Seat Checks
- City of Prairie Car Seat Safety
- Dodge City Car Seat Installation
- Gardner Police Department Child Safety Seat Installation
- Kansas Traffic Safety Resources: Find a Car Seat Inspection Station
- Leawood Police Child Seat Safety Information / Installation
- NHTSA Car Seat Inspection Stations
- Olathe City Child Seat Inspections
- Olathe Medical Center Child Passenger Safety Seat Fittings & Installations
- Overland Park Child Seat Safety Checks
- The Topeka Fire Department Car Seat Installation & Inspection
Child passenger safety related videos Kansas
Child Passenger Safety Booster Seat – Kansas
Learn How To Keep Children In Car Seats Safe
Car Seat Safety Demonstration
Booster Seat Safety
More information and resources on car seat safety Kansas
- American Academy of Pediatrics Car Seat Recommendations
- American Automobile Association Car Seat Guide
- Center for Disease Control and Prevention Child Passenger Safety
- Douglas County Sheriff’s Office Guidelines
- Kansas Department of Health and Environment
- Kansas Highway Patrol
- Safe Kids Worldwide Ultimate Seat Guide
USA Child Passenger Safety Laws by State
FIND YOUR STATE’S CAR SEAT LAWS
Click on your state on the map below to see your state’s car seat law